Azuki Ice Cream (Japanese Red Beans Ice Cream) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2007
We had some purple hull cowpeas instead of azuki and this recipe stil turned out excellently! We didn't use all of the liquid after boiling the beans and it turned out just right. Great flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2005
Taste as great as the store bought ones!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by INSPIRON41

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2007
Very delicious. I used kidney red beans since I had a bunch, but otherwise didn't deviate from the recipe. It came out delicious, but very rich - too rich for me! I think next time I will substitute heavy cream for light cream - it may take time to make, (I did mine without an ice cream maker, too) but it was fun and worth it. Tastes better than store-bought, and cheaper too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
VERY GOOD. I used a pressure cooker for the azuki beans so it would cook much faster. And I halfed the recipe. I would recommend to use red beans as a substitute for azuki beans if you can not get you hands on azuki. I've made anko before, so when I found this I was quite excited. And it's no disappointment! My sister doesn't even like anko but she found this quite tasty! My ice cream maker broke so I just put it in a bowl and straight into the freezer. I will definitely make this again and I highly recommend it to anyone who likes Japanese sweets. :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2006
I tried this recipe and was not disappointed, however the easiest way for me to make adzuki ice cream is simply letting a half gallon of vanilla ice cream melt and adding the beans and refreezing. This is a lot more work but has an authentic homemade taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bitchin Kitchen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2006
it's okay
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2008
This was just OK. Not as good as most red bean ice creams i've had. It took a long time to make (with the beans boiling) and tasted great out of the ice cream maker, but after sitting in the freezer over night it had a flaky consistancy and tasted much grittier than I would like. My husband loved the way it tates and would probably give it at least 4 stars, but since I spent all that time - I give it only 2. I followed the recipe exactly as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Prairie Epicurian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
This recipe did not freeze in my 2qt ice cream maker. I have never had an ice cream not freeze before. I think there may have been too much liquid. I ended up having to let it sit in my freezer and turn rock solid. The flavour is very powdery. I think one would do best to put almost whole red beans in as a mix-in for vanilla instead. I probably won't be taking my chances on this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sugarwaffle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Erie, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada


 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Green Tea Mochi Ice Cream

See how to make green tea mochi-wrapped vanilla ice cream.

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

How to Make Ice Cream

See how easy it is to make America’s favorite frozen dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States