Azteca Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2001
I loved this soup. It's quick, easy and very tasty. For a more low fat version of the tortilla strips, I sprayed the strips with olive oil, and then baked them at 375 degrees until they got crispy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2003
I loved this soup. I do suggest that adding chopped raw onion and bit of lime juice does just the trick. The lime juice is essential when adding chicken. Thanks Andree!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2002
I am a Latina who loves Cilantro, but this soup had a little too much. Otherwise, it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2002
Wow...what a recipe! I brings back happy memories for me. It is nice, easy and quick to prepare. I did not use as much oil as recommended...the amount of cilantro was a bit much, it should be used as a garnish only, with lime, onions etc. Adding a cup or two of chicken would be just perfect. I will prepare this in order to use my Thanksgiving "saved-over" turkey. Gracias Andre, tu sopa es digna de un soberano Azteca !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
I used some canned substitutes and it was still great...drained diced tomatoes instead of fresh and canned diced chilles instead of adobo. I also added canned black beans and corn a couple times for a heartier soup. Always topped with monterey jack cheese and tortilla strips (or chips). Always enjoyed to the last drop!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2008
Absolutely great! I usually use water instead of chicken broth and I add lime juice. Wonderful result!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DiamondGirl amanecer

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2006
LOVED IT! Exactly the soup recipe I have been looking for the past 3 years! SO easy to make and great leftover (if there are any!!) A couple of variations to try: add 2 T uncooked long-grain rice; add cooked and cubed chicken breast; add sliced andouille sausage; the possibilities are endless!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsay Ritchie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bellevue, Washington, USA
Living In: Monroe, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2003
We loved this soup. I sprayed the tortillas with cooking spray and baked them and they turned out perfect. I also added some shredded chicken to the soup and sprinkled a little cheddar cheese on top along with the avacado and tortilla strips when serving. We thought is was even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corning, New York, USA
Living In: North Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2010
I loved this recipe! I followed it to the T except for I used tostada shells instead of frying my own tortillas. I also sprinkled a little extra cumin in for a little different taste. Next time I might cut down on the amount of onion because mine was a bit overpowering. But otherwise it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
So good! I could have eaten 3 bowls of this ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken Tortilla Soup

Make this tasty chicken tortilla soup in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Chicken Taco Soup

Making this chicken taco soup is a snap in the slow cooker.

Southwest Tortilla Soup

Discover time-saving tricks for making delicious tortilla soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States