Azteca Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2007
Extremely flavorful (I actually disgree with many other posters and loved all the cilantro in the recipe). Our only issue is that the soup was VERY spicy for some reason. We only used one chipotle, but it made the dish almost too spicy for one of our dinner guests. Fortunately the avocado (and a glass of milk!) kept the heat down a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alicia Anderson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Desoto, Texas, USA
Living In: Beech Grove, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2007
The soup was great. My wife really loved it. She is very particular about the soups she eats. I added some pre-cooked chicken and it really made the dish. Next time I will also add some lime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2007
This was great and the kind of recipe you can tweak and make your own. Along with the tomato, onion and cilantro, I pureed some steamed cauliflower. I like to up my veggie intake any way I can. I also put a can of diced tomatoes(with green chiles) and a can of hominy to the simmering mixture. I made some jasmine rice and put in bowls and poured the soup over. I garnished with the avocado and chips and a dollup of Tofutti sour cream replacement. This was delicious! Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2006
This was good, but it definitely needs some add-ins. I halved the cilantro, and I'm glad I did. Recipe doesn't really call for cooking the soup, but I sauteed some diced potatoes separately, then cooked them in the soup for about 10 minutes. Also added some corn and shredded chicken. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MADBALL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bolingbrook, Illinois, USA
Living In: San Marcos, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2006
LOVED IT! Exactly the soup recipe I have been looking for the past 3 years! SO easy to make and great leftover (if there are any!!) A couple of variations to try: add 2 T uncooked long-grain rice; add cooked and cubed chicken breast; add sliced andouille sausage; the possibilities are endless!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsay Ritchie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bellevue, Washington, USA
Living In: Monroe, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2006
It was just too darn hot yesterday, and I'd already picked up the ingredients for the soup, so I had it cold--I just tossed everything in the blender raw and voila! Instant soup. I reduced the (vegetable) broth to 3 cups because I prefer a thicker cold soup, but I forgot to reduce the chipotle, and it was HOT, but oh so good! I had leftover red pepper, so I chopped that up for garnish (I left out the tortillas)--yum! I think this would be good with corn, too. I'm sure it will be delicious hot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2006
This was great! SO easy to make too! Next time - I hope to try the baked strips for the garnish (I used crumbled store-bought baked chips to save some time). Will definitely make again...and again...and again! Maybe with a few suggestions by other reviewers - but the base recipe is GREAT as is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canajoharie, New York, USA
Living In: Nashua, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2003
I loved this soup. I do suggest that adding chopped raw onion and bit of lime juice does just the trick. The lime juice is essential when adding chicken. Thanks Andree!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2003
We loved this soup. I sprayed the tortillas with cooking spray and baked them and they turned out perfect. I also added some shredded chicken to the soup and sprinkled a little cheddar cheese on top along with the avacado and tortilla strips when serving. We thought is was even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corning, New York, USA
Living In: North Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2002
Wow...what a recipe! I brings back happy memories for me. It is nice, easy and quick to prepare. I did not use as much oil as recommended...the amount of cilantro was a bit much, it should be used as a garnish only, with lime, onions etc. Adding a cup or two of chicken would be just perfect. I will prepare this in order to use my Thanksgiving "saved-over" turkey. Gracias Andre, tu sopa es digna de un soberano Azteca !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken Tortilla Soup

Make this tasty chicken tortilla soup in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Chicken Taco Soup

Making this chicken taco soup is a snap in the slow cooker.

Six-Can Chicken Tortilla Soup

You won't believe how tasty this easy soup is. Serve with chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States