Azteca Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
I've made this recipe a few times and has always been a hit with my family. Hits the spot every time. Good with a little left over rice added and topped with cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Henderson, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2011
Wow! I've been looking for a soup like this for a LONG time! It's very similar to one I get at a nearby restaurant with shrimp in it. I made chicken (on the side with a little salt and pepper) to go in it the first time and it's was delicious. I used one can of diced tomatoes, rinsed off, a lil less cilantro and broth, and added a chicken bouillon cube and salt to taste. So good! I will definitely make this again. **Update: I've made this many times and skip the tortillas and avocado. I also follow the recipe when I have fresh tomatoes. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
I didn't fryny tortillas but just used store bought tortilla chips - and I used this recipe as a soup base and added lots fo vegetables and a can of pintos. I will use this soup base again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen Woy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Anselmo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2010
I loved this recipe! I followed it to the T except for I used tostada shells instead of frying my own tortillas. I also sprinkled a little extra cumin in for a little different taste. Next time I might cut down on the amount of onion because mine was a bit overpowering. But otherwise it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
I used some canned substitutes and it was still great...drained diced tomatoes instead of fresh and canned diced chilles instead of adobo. I also added canned black beans and corn a couple times for a heartier soup. Always topped with monterey jack cheese and tortilla strips (or chips). Always enjoyed to the last drop!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2008
Absolutely great! I usually use water instead of chicken broth and I add lime juice. Wonderful result!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DiamondGirl amanecer

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2008
5 star recipe ! My husband is Mexican and this recipe put a smile on his face. The kids loved it too ! I did boil chicken thighs first and added everything to my chicken and broth...also added more chipotle and salt! perfect and so easy !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2008
This is one of my absolute favorite recipes on the site. I love how fresh and spicy it tastes! - it's making my mouth water just thinking about it! I tend to leave out the avocado and tortilla, but stick to the recipe otherwise. I'll be keeping this one around for a long time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karissa

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Burlington, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2008
So good!! But spicy! I ended up taking out the chipotle peppers a few minutes after I threw them in, and the soup was plenty spicy. I thought the cilantro amount was perfect - it was definitely a main flavor. If I were to change anything I would add just a little more tomato and a little less onion. I recommend plenty of avocado to eat with it. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by meatme

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Juneau, Alaska, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2008
IS EXCELENT
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by L_maria

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken Tortilla Soup

Make this tasty chicken tortilla soup in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Chicken Taco Soup

Making this chicken taco soup is a snap in the slow cooker.

Southwest Tortilla Soup

Discover time-saving tricks for making delicious tortilla soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States