Azteca Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
Loved this recipe!!! Easy and delicious!! I sautéed the onion quickly to take away the bite other than that I followed the recipe and its perfection! Thx Andree!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2013
I was surprised how much my family of picky eaters liked this soup. It's a good way to get some veggies into my picky kids. With the advice of the other reviewers, I cut way back on the cilantro and added a bit of lime. To same time and make it more filling, I left out the home made tortilla chips and just served it with store bought tortilla chips and rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2013
Delicious soup! I blitzed the tomato, cilantro (including stems), onion, and chipotle in adobo with a cup of the broth in my Vitamix. I then heated everything through in a pot (with the remaining broth), added a 1/2 tsp of cumin, teaspoon (or so) of lime juice, and a dash of chipotle powder and garlic salt. Instead of the fried tortilla strips, I added 1/2 cup of corn meal (polenta) and cooked it through for about 10 minutes. Served with avocado, sour cream, and shredded cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by duckiewhomp

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
Both my husband and I really enjoyed this soup. It definitely has a bite, so adjust the chipotle accordingly. We added a can of corn and some chicken, but kept the rest of the recipe as written. It was ready in just a few minutes - easy and quick. We'll definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
We live in Mexico and this soup was better than in any of the restaurants here. The only change I would make is to add more vegetables like red pepper, carrots, onions and definetly chicken. The homemade tortialla chips make it even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
Really enjoyed this soup! I will be making it again. I don't have corn tortillas at our regular grocery store, so I used tortilla chips and warmed them in the oven. I also added a squeeze of lime right before serving and it was great. Hubby really enjoyed it too. Thanks for the great recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tanya O'Blenes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2011
too oniony and watery,had no flavor. should have just gone with my regular old tortilla soup recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
Pretty good.... Both my hubs and I liked this but agreed that the addition of chicken would have been a HUGE improvement. As is, this was a tad boring and really not that filling at all. If it weren't for the quesadillas I served on the side, we'd have have been searching the cupboards later on (we Midwestners like hearty meals, I guess). To speed prep, I purchased a bag of tri-colored tortilla strips. I definitely think adding these and cubed avocado is a must (it adds a little "oomph" to an otherwise basic soup). NOTE: I thought the proportions of cilantro and chipotle were spot on. It really is a matter of preference, so go with what suits your tastes. Served with cheese quesadillas and margaritas, this was a decent meal. I just wouldn't make this again without adding some meat to bulk it up a bit. Thanks for sharing, Andree! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
So good! I could have eaten 3 bowls of this ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
I've made this recipe a few times and has always been a hit with my family. Hits the spot every time. Good with a little left over rice added and topped with cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Henderson, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken Tortilla Soup

Make this tasty chicken tortilla soup in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Chicken Taco Soup

Making this chicken taco soup is a snap in the slow cooker.

Six-Can Chicken Tortilla Soup

You won't believe how tasty this easy soup is. Serve with chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States