Awesome Summer Watermelon Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2013
I was going to a picnic and had a watermelon so looked for something to do it with it. I used this recipe as a base and it was fabulous! My alterations were minimal--I chopped up some fresh mint from the garden and used store bought light balsamic vinaigrette. I didn't measure the amount but added to taste. I likely used less than called for in tthe recipe. I also added the feta after the dressing so the feta didn't get discolored as someone else noted. NO ONE had ever tasted a similar dish and everyone loved it. Fabulous, quick summer salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2013
Tried this today and....AMAZING!!! I added a cubed mango just because I had one over ripe in the fridge, along with some mint and it came out delicious! Oh, and the dressing is BY FAR the best I've made. This will be my new go-to dressing for all my salads! Wonderful refreshing alternative to standard summer salads like Cesar and pasta salad. Thanks, MomZilla!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2013
Nice blend of flavors, but a bit watery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairport, New York, USA
Living In: Macedon, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2013
I was supposed to bring watermelon chunks to a summer party. I took half of the watermelon chunks and I made this recipe. No one liked it. As suggested, I tried the red, white and blue version (added blueberries) since it is almost the 4th. The balsamic should specify white balsalmic because regular dark balsalmic stains all the white feta a dingy yellow. No patriot look at all! No one liked the chewy feta in a soft fruit salad. The watermelon did burst in your mouth which is the nicest part of the salad but there was no watermelon taste as the gentle fruit had picked up the oily vinegar taste. A few people ate a few blueberries but again the oiliness ruined the refreshing reason we eat fruit. All of the plain watermelon is gone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Whitehall, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2013
Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
This is 5 stars hands down! Didn't change a thing. BUT, next time I'm going to use blue cheese. Just would like a stronger cheese taste. It's funny how people have different taste. One reviewer wrote that the feta was too strong. Different strokes, I guess. I'd like to see where people are from to get an idea of what they like in their part of the country. Some people think a tsp of cayenne is not enough and some think a pinch of black pepper will set them on fire. Anyway, loved it and will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2013
It was absolutely great and a big hit at my husband's birthday party. It was super easy to put together. Everyone was asking for the recipe'. This year my husband's birthday was on Memorial Day. So I added one more ingredient, blueberries, to make it red, white and blue. Worked perfectly and looked and tasted GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2013
Refreshing and delicious! And- it's a little different. Had a girls night and everyone wanted the recipe. I didn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HB Sue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pasadena, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2013
Very tasty and pretty. I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2013
I really wanted to like this salad. I had an amazing watermelon salad for the first time at a restaurant last summer and have been trying to find a recipe that's similar ever since. This one just wasn't it but it also just didn't seem to work flavor-wise. I think balsamic vinegar is too harsh in this combination. I would think rice vinegar or something along those lines would compliment the watermelon better. Anyway, not going to keep this one I'm afraid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Watermelon, Feta and Cashew Salad

See how to make a sensational summer salad. So refreshing!

Awesome Pasta Salad

Watch how to make a pasta salad filled with lots of good stuff.

Classic Macaroni Salad

See how to make a classic deli-style pasta salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States