Awesome Summer Watermelon Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2014
Terrific, surprising blend of flavors and textures. I was skeptical about this recipe, but it turned out wonderfully. Easy to make, and a great addition to a summer meal or potluck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
After reading all the reviews I thought I would try this. I was extremely disappointed. Maybe I did something wrong. It was very soggy and not very pleasing to the eye...especially the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2014
This is a fantastic summer salad! I'm taking this today to a cookout and I'm sure everyone will want the recipe. I used balsamic vinaigrette instead of the vinegar and oil. There was a lot of dressing left over after the watermelon was gone, but it can be used for other fruit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pamlico Grams

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
I just didn't like this with the dressing. I think it would be much better with just a sprinkling of salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
I made this for a Fourth of July get-together, and it was a hit. Everybody who tried it said they loved it. Personally, I'd give this a 4-out-of-5-stars rating, since it was pretty nice, but not fantastic - but everyone else expressed five-star opinions. I think this was the first time I'd ever bought a watermelon - the produce guy at my grocery store picked out a seedless one for me. I tried to make this exactly as written, except that I wasn't sure how to measure "3 cups" of watermelon. I figured by weight, and even then, 24 ounces of watermelon didn't seem like much, so I think I wound up using 36 ounces or so (2 1/4 pounds). Everything else, I did by the book, and it all came together nicely. Worth recommending!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
I would give it 5 stars with one change....only use the dressing at the last minute. I think using the dressing ahead of time made it visually unappealing (as the feta started breaking down and kind of coating everything in a whitish film). I had some blueberry ginger balsamic vinegar which was excellent with this dish. ALSO....I only used 1/2 cup of oil. I agree with others, you wont need the entire amount of dressing. Save it though...it's great on a regular salad too
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WSBLEND
Home Town: Clearwater, Florida, USA
Living In: Longwood, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
This was really good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2013
I was going to a picnic and had a watermelon so looked for something to do it with it. I used this recipe as a base and it was fabulous! My alterations were minimal--I chopped up some fresh mint from the garden and used store bought light balsamic vinaigrette. I didn't measure the amount but added to taste. I likely used less than called for in tthe recipe. I also added the feta after the dressing so the feta didn't get discolored as someone else noted. NO ONE had ever tasted a similar dish and everyone loved it. Fabulous, quick summer salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2013
Tried this today and....AMAZING!!! I added a cubed mango just because I had one over ripe in the fridge, along with some mint and it came out delicious! Oh, and the dressing is BY FAR the best I've made. This will be my new go-to dressing for all my salads! Wonderful refreshing alternative to standard summer salads like Cesar and pasta salad. Thanks, MomZilla!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2013
Nice blend of flavors, but a bit watery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairport, New York, USA
Living In: Macedon, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Watermelon, Feta and Cashew Salad

See how to make a sensational summer salad. So refreshing!

Perfect Summer Fruit Salad

A rainbow of color and flavor, this truly is the Perfect Summer Fruit Salad!

Awesome Pasta Salad

Watch how to make a pasta salad filled with lots of good stuff.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States