Awesome Summer Watermelon Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
I just didn't like this with the dressing. I think it would be much better with just a sprinkling of salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
I made this for a Fourth of July get-together, and it was a hit. Everybody who tried it said they loved it. Personally, I'd give this a 4-out-of-5-stars rating, since it was pretty nice, but not fantastic - but everyone else expressed five-star opinions. I think this was the first time I'd ever bought a watermelon - the produce guy at my grocery store picked out a seedless one for me. I tried to make this exactly as written, except that I wasn't sure how to measure "3 cups" of watermelon. I figured by weight, and even then, 24 ounces of watermelon didn't seem like much, so I think I wound up using 36 ounces or so (2 1/4 pounds). Everything else, I did by the book, and it all came together nicely. Worth recommending!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
I would give it 5 stars with one change....only use the dressing at the last minute. I think using the dressing ahead of time made it visually unappealing (as the feta started breaking down and kind of coating everything in a whitish film). I had some blueberry ginger balsamic vinegar which was excellent with this dish. ALSO....I only used 1/2 cup of oil. I agree with others, you wont need the entire amount of dressing. Save it though...it's great on a regular salad too
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WSBLEND
Home Town: Clearwater, Florida, USA
Living In: Longwood, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
This was really good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2013
I was going to a picnic and had a watermelon so looked for something to do it with it. I used this recipe as a base and it was fabulous! My alterations were minimal--I chopped up some fresh mint from the garden and used store bought light balsamic vinaigrette. I didn't measure the amount but added to taste. I likely used less than called for in tthe recipe. I also added the feta after the dressing so the feta didn't get discolored as someone else noted. NO ONE had ever tasted a similar dish and everyone loved it. Fabulous, quick summer salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2013
Tried this today and....AMAZING!!! I added a cubed mango just because I had one over ripe in the fridge, along with some mint and it came out delicious! Oh, and the dressing is BY FAR the best I've made. This will be my new go-to dressing for all my salads! Wonderful refreshing alternative to standard summer salads like Cesar and pasta salad. Thanks, MomZilla!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2013
Nice blend of flavors, but a bit watery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairport, New York, USA
Living In: Macedon, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2013
I was supposed to bring watermelon chunks to a summer party. I took half of the watermelon chunks and I made this recipe. No one liked it. As suggested, I tried the red, white and blue version (added blueberries) since it is almost the 4th. The balsamic should specify white balsalmic because regular dark balsalmic stains all the white feta a dingy yellow. No patriot look at all! No one liked the chewy feta in a soft fruit salad. The watermelon did burst in your mouth which is the nicest part of the salad but there was no watermelon taste as the gentle fruit had picked up the oily vinegar taste. A few people ate a few blueberries but again the oiliness ruined the refreshing reason we eat fruit. All of the plain watermelon is gone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Whitehall, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2013
Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
This is 5 stars hands down! Didn't change a thing. BUT, next time I'm going to use blue cheese. Just would like a stronger cheese taste. It's funny how people have different taste. One reviewer wrote that the feta was too strong. Different strokes, I guess. I'd like to see where people are from to get an idea of what they like in their part of the country. Some people think a tsp of cayenne is not enough and some think a pinch of black pepper will set them on fire. Anyway, loved it and will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Watermelon, Feta and Cashew Salad

See how to make a sensational summer salad. So refreshing!

Awesome Pasta Salad

Watch how to make a pasta salad filled with lots of good stuff.

Classic Macaroni Salad

See how to make a classic deli-style pasta salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States