Awesome Spicy Beef Kabobs OR Haitian Voodoo Sticks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
Appropriately named because these really were awesome. I was a little concerned about the amount of cayenne, so I did cut that in half, but left the black pepper as written. This turned out to be the perfect amount of heat for us. Not sure why, but I haven't made beef kebabs for years, but they'll be making a repeat appearance often moving forward. Thanks Eating Indy for a delicious recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2013
This is one of our favorite summer recipes. My hubby just dips his meat in a cucumber yogurt sauce we get at Target (Archer Farms), but I prefer it either in a pita with tomatoes, cucumbers, and onions and that sauce, or on a salad with cucumber dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2013
Good flavor but too spicy and that was after I reduced the cayenne. We like spicy but this made it hard to taste the rest of the meal. Will use 1/4 cayenne next time and make sure to serve it with a cool fruit such as pineapple or mandarin oranges and rice. Very easy though so we will make again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bloomington, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2013
Even better the next day! I used half the cayenne as recommended (and I love spice) and it was plenty. Whipped up some low fat sour cream + garlic powder for dipping. Veggies marinated in the same spicy marinade could have soaked for less time as they were also spicy. Only left it in for two hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2013
Tender and tasty, a little spicey for my sons liking and I halved the pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Angela Sackett
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2013
These were great! We added sweet potatoes, tri colored peppers, onions, and zucchini to our skewers, and used venison steak.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2013
LOVE THESE!!! recipe is perfect as written -will be making these for many years to come.Am going to try this recipe on chicken -only use chicken bouillon hope it works just as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Great Falls, Montana, USA
Living In: Dallas, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2013
5 stars if you like heat, I doubled the recipe and followed exactly (without adding salt) and it was great! 6 people ate everything. I recommend serving this with a cooling cucumber sauce like raita to counter act the spice. will definitely make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lathrup Village, Michigan, USA
Living In: Glenmoore, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2013
I wanted to like this but, it was simply way too hot. I only used 1/2 of the cayenne pepper. I like spicy food but after a few bites I was done. You would really need to like very hot/spicy food to enjoy this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Troy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2013
Didn't make them spicy but had good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 181) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom's Beef Shish Kabobs

Marinated and grilled beef and vegetable skewers, just like mom's.

Sensational Sirloin Kabobs

Sirloin steak cubes marinated in a soy-based sauce and grilled with vegetables.

Spicy Orange Zest Beef

See how to make a healthier version of orange beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States