Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 16)
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
I followed the second reviewer's advice (sdgirl) and it was perfect! My boyfriend hates mushrooms and he could not tell that there was cream of mushroom in this recipe. He loved it! And was shocked when I told him afterward Haha. I cooked mine on high for 4 hours and on low for another 4 hours & the meat was so tender and amazing. Next time I'll make sure to chop up 3 carrots, instead of 2; and use 3 garlic cloves to substitute for the garlic salt. Four small red potatoes cut into quarters was the perfect amount. I omitted the celery because I hate celery and the recipe still turned out amazing w/o it. Next I will use a whole white onion, instead of half. When the roast was done cooking, I had to add a table spoon and a half of cornstarch to thicken the gravy just right. Make sure to take out the roast and the vegetables before you thicken the gravy (: This roast does go really really well with store baked French or Italian loafs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
Yes...served over cheesy mashed potatoes and my whole family loved it thanks...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
This was the most moist, flavorful pot roast. I used red wine instead of the water and I added fresh mushrooms. I served it with mashed potatoes. It is truly awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LSTOOLMILLER

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
Delicious and super easy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
I made this recipe for the first time today and the flavor was awesome! I never prepare Beef Roast, because it is always tough or stringy! This recipe melted in your mouth and cut with a fork! This is a keeper! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pamela Dowdy Pannell

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
I have tried this recipe and loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
I make my pot roast this way every time...have for years
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FixFastLady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Whittier, California, USA
Living In: Downey, California, USA
Photo by The-harcrows@sbcglobal.net
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
I have been cooking my pot roast this way for years. Make it even more yummy by quartering 4-5 potatoes and placing them on the bottom of the slow cooker along with large sliced carrots (or baby carrots), and an onion quartered. You can also add and some beef broth in the bottom for extra juice or add dry beef boulion for an added flavor. When it is all done, I take out all of the meat and vegetables and then add frozen peas to the gravy just until they get hot. Serve with homemade biscuits and a salad. I am cooking this as I type.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
It can't fail, we use a lot if different types of roasts, arm roasts, blade roasts, and they all turn our great...Everyone who've eaten them rave. This is a winner for sure...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Vermont, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jenn Haney
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
I substituted beef broth for the water and added carrots and potatoes (because I love them with a pot roast). The carrots I added at the beginning of cooking and the potatoes I added 3 hours before it was supposed to be ready. Next time I'll put the potatoes in a little later (2-2 1/2 hrs before it's ready). If you use a lean roast (lean cut of meat, trim the fat) and add lots of veggies then it's very healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn Haney

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Germantown, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 151-160 (of 6,328) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Apple Cider Pot Roast

A melt-in-the-mouth pot roast marinated in apple cider and spices.

Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a super simple, tender pot roast in the crock pot.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States