Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 16)
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
Was a big hit with some picky eaters. I added 1 to 1 1/2 cups water to make gravy later, but probably would have been better to add beef broth or stock for a fuller flavor. Added pepper, garlic and salt to taste. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bon White

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
This is an awesome recipe. I add a couple of onions, celery, fresh mushrooms, minced garlic and season with montreal steak spice before topping with the mushroom soup. I cook the roast on low over night and remove the roast in the morning. Wrap the roast in foil and leave in the frig until supper time. Thicken the gravy with corn starch, make a double batch of Yorkshire Pudding and roast veggies while Yorkshires bake. Once cool, the roast thinly slices well and there is lots of gravy for leftovers. A little horse radish and Enjoy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Collingwood, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Midland, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
Very good once put in potatoes, carrots, white onions
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
Very good! My husband liked it and he is a fantastic cook so he's usually pretty particular. I added carrot and potatoes. Next time I'll skip the potatoes and make mashed to go with the yummy gravy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2014
I make my roast this way all the time now only I dont add water and it is full of flavor...an awesome gravy that you dont even have to add anything to when the meat is done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2014
Awesome recipe! My extremely picky toddler couldn't get enough of it! This will be making its way into the regular meal rotation. I followed the advice of other commenters and seared the roast first. I also used beef stock instead of plain water, and used only one can of mushroom soup (because that was all I had on hand). It made a ton of sauce though, so 2 cans might be too much. When the roast was cooked I poured the gravy into a sauce pan, added some corn starch to thicken, and let it simmer for 15 mins before serving. Delicious and simple recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JANICE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Antigonish, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
I added celery, mushrooms, potato and carrots
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
Wow I made this tonight and it was soooooo good! Even my picky 10 year old gobbled it up. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina Long Kehoe

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
This is an ideal dish for a busy day. I made a few alterations. I seasoned and floured the beef and then seared it very well in a cast iron skillet before putting it in the crock pot. Also, I don’t like the overpowering flavor of the soup mix, so I used half the amount and sprinkled a little beef bouillon in with the mushroom soup. It couldn’t be easier: make it and forget it. This was perfect served over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
I've made this recipe a few times now with some additions, and it comes out great every time. First, in addition to everything above, I sub out the water for beef broth (no brainer). I also like to chop up a few carrots and stalks of celery, which go right into the pot to cook the whole time. This adds some extra flavor to the broth, and they're super tender when it comes time to eat. I strain the juices into a pot at the end to get out some of the fat, and add some flour to them before boiling on the stove for a bit. After a touch of salt and pepper to taste, it makes a nice, thick gravy that we all enjoy. From there, I always whip up some mashed potatoes and serve with a loaf of bread. This recipe always goes over well with my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 151-160 (of 6,360) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Apple Cider Pot Roast

A melt-in-the-mouth pot roast marinated in apple cider and spices.

Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a super simple, tender pot roast in the crock pot.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States