Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
I have made my roasts like this for years except I have use Golden Mushroom soup. We used to make this when we cooked for the cowboys when they all gathered at our ranch to work cattle. Believe me, those cowboys could put away the food! They loved roast fixed this way. The Golden Mushroom soup makes a excellent gravy. When I fix it for my family I put the roast in the crick pot, put the soups on and around the roast, put whole potatoes, unpeeled, on top, and then put baby carrots on top. The large crock pot is always completely full. My granddaughter always got excited when I made this because she said she knew that we would have stew with the leftovers. I just cut up all the leftovers in a big Dutch oven, be sure to put all of the gravy in with it, and I put in a large can of diced tomatoes. I also cut up a onion and add it. Put in enough water to cover the stew and salt and pepper to taste. I always make a big pan of homemade cornbread which has a little sugar in it. My family has two meals that are delicious!! The Golden Mushroom soup is the only change I make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
Loved this recipe! I used a can of golden mushroom soup instead of the traditional cream of mushroom and it was excellent. Made gravy from the liquid and served with mashed potatoes and peas. A definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Uhrlaub

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
it was great. 4 hours before done added carrots and chopped red potatoes. Hubby said it was the best he ever had. Woo Hoo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
I followed this recipe to a T! And it was delicious!! I give it 5stars for super ease!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
I followed the second reviewer's advice (sdgirl) and it was perfect! My boyfriend hates mushrooms and he could not tell that there was cream of mushroom in this recipe. He loved it! And was shocked when I told him afterward Haha. I cooked mine on high for 4 hours and on low for another 4 hours & the meat was so tender and amazing. Next time I'll make sure to chop up 3 carrots, instead of 2; and use 3 garlic cloves to substitute for the garlic salt. Four small red potatoes cut into quarters was the perfect amount. I omitted the celery because I hate celery and the recipe still turned out amazing w/o it. Next I will use a whole white onion, instead of half. When the roast was done cooking, I had to add a table spoon and a half of cornstarch to thicken the gravy just right. Make sure to take out the roast and the vegetables before you thicken the gravy (: This roast does go really really well with store baked French or Italian loafs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
Yes...served over cheesy mashed potatoes and my whole family loved it thanks...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
This was the most moist, flavorful pot roast. I used red wine instead of the water and I added fresh mushrooms. I served it with mashed potatoes. It is truly awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LSTOOLMILLER

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
Delicious and super easy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
I made this recipe for the first time today and the flavor was awesome! I never prepare Beef Roast, because it is always tough or stringy! This recipe melted in your mouth and cut with a fork! This is a keeper! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
I have tried this recipe and loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 6,312) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Apple Cider Pot Roast

A melt-in-the-mouth pot roast marinated in apple cider and spices.

Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a super simple, tender pot roast in the crock pot.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States