Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: May 12, 2014
I followed recipe as is except for a few alterations. I could only find a 3.8 LB beef boston cut roast. I followed others' suggestions and dusted the roast with flour, granulated garlic, salt, and black pepper before searing it on all sides. I added about 1.5 LB of chopped golden Yukon potatoes two hours before it was done. I cooked on low for 7.5 hours total. Let me say it was delicious. This recipe will definitely make its way into the weekly rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2014
Ok, a 5 year old kid could make this recipe (with a pop top can of soup). It's that easy. I used a 4 lb roast and cooked on 9 hours at low and then kept it on warm for another hour. It comes out really tasty and falls apart with a fork. The gravy is thin and more like a "jus" so you may want to thicken it up with some cornstarch. I didn't and it was just a little runny, but I like it that way. There is no need for any additional seasoning. It was nice and salty and flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nantru

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2014
This turned out well! I took the advice of some and added a couple tablespoons of corn starch to thicken the gravy. I also added potatoes and carrots. Next time I will sear the meat before putting into the crock pot for added flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2014
With the onion soup mix, it's SUPER salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyoftwo247

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2014
I don't usually cook dishes that require soup mixes or canned soups, but I thought I'd try something new. If you like your pot roast swimming in some of the strongest gravy you've ever tasted, go ahead and make this, but I'll stick with my old standby recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2014
This is my go to recipe for pot roast, super simple and makes a yummy gravy. I always throw in onions, celery, carrots and potatoes, and season the meat well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2014
The best pot roast ever! It turns out moist and tender every time! My family cannot wait to eat this once they smell it cooking! I cook carrots and potatoes with my roast and the gravy is the perfect amount every time. Thanks for sharing this wonderful recipe:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mommaoffour

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2014
I use Prime Roast and just melts in your mouth. Prime Roast is a little bit pricey, but worth every bite. My child is very finicky, and this is one meal he will eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2014
What is much gooder is just using about a half pound of crimini mushrooms (the brown ones) that have been quartered instead of the can of mushroom soup. My version of this is using a 3 lb roast, about 2 cups of water, 2-3 tablespoons of no msg beef soup mix, fresh ground black pepper, and the mushrooms as well as some potato or corn starch to thicken the gravy. Cooked on high for 4 hours. My wife is allergic to wheat flour so this has to be thickened using starch. My daughter could probably eat all the gravy this makes and more without sharing.. The roast comes out sooooo tender even with my best chefs knife which is razer sharp I cannot cut it. It just crumbles away. If there are any leftover a bit of bbq sauce and the left over meat shredded up make wonderful sloppy joes or bbq sandwiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: North Battleford, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
So easy and a winner!! What a nice meal to come home to at the end of the day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 6,334) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Apple Cider Pot Roast

A melt-in-the-mouth pot roast marinated in apple cider and spices.

Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a super simple, tender pot roast in the crock pot.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States