Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by jesika99ca
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2015
I read all the reviews and pointers and I made this roast and omg! It was great! I figured this would be too bland if I followed the recipe so I changed it up a bit. 1. Sprinkle the whole roast with laws seasoned salt 2. Sprinkle with garlic powder 3. Coat with flour 4. Sear all sides in olive oil 5. Put in crock pot 6. Chop up garlic cloves (to taste) roast in olive oil 6. Pour half cup beef broth in mixture 7. mix 1 and half packs of lipton onion mix with the can of cream of mushroom soup 8.,add some red wine 9. Pour the mix over the roast 10. Add the broth mixture to it 11. add rosemary 12 peppercorns 13. Cover and cook 8-10hrs
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2015
Flavorless. I did it on the high slow cooker for 4 hrs. Meat was still tough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2015
This beats any recipe made in the oven! I like a deep, rich tasting gravy, so I did substitute beef stock and red wine for the water. Cooked a 4lb roast on low for the full 8 hours. It was so tender you didn't need a knife. Very flavorful! As to the many comments regarding gravy thickness: I think that's a personal preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2015
Awesome recipe. I tweaked it a bit only bc I didn't have all the ingredients on hand. I replaced the spinach with fresh kale. Love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2015
This was so easy and my family loved it. The cream of mushroom soup made such a rich and delicious gravy. We had this over white rice with green beans and there were No Leftovers...Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Turnersville, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2015
This recipe was awesome, made the gravy for you without having to make a roux at the end. I added potatoes, carrots and celery to it. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vikki Fraser

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2015
Was delicious!! Based on other reviews I made as directed with the only addition being a few shakes of worcheshire sauce and dash of pepper in the gravy.  Used about a 3lb chuck roast on low for 8 hrs and seared it first on both sides.  Bon apetite!  We roasted veggies instead of adding in crock pot but I'm sorry we did as the gravy would have been good on the veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
best pot roast I've ever had. used Lipton beefy onion soup mix and it's turned out great both times
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2015
Made this yesterday. I used beef broth instead of water. The Cream of Mushroom soup added both thickness and great flavor to the gravy. Think this will be my new go-to pot roast recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: La Jolla, California, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2015
Sooo delicious. I have made and tried many different pot roast recipes over the years and this is the best. At first I was skeptical because how to two simple and boxed/canned ingredients replace the many fresh spices that I put in my recipe. But I tried it and it is now the only way I make my pot roast. In fact I made it for my Mom and she has now converted. The only changes I have made to the recipe are: I use the Beefy Lipton Oninion Soup Mix and instead of water I use beef broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 6,422) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a super simple, tender pot roast in the crock pot.

Slow Cooker Apple Cider Pot Roast

A melt-in-the-mouth pot roast marinated in apple cider and spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States