Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
I used the recipe as written, but added carrots and potatoes to the bottom of the crock pot before adding the roast. I also put a little flour on the roast and browned the sides in a pan before putting it in the crock. I left the ingredients simmering on low for about 8 hours. It was wonderful! The roast was so tender it fell apart on the plate. The carrots and potatoes were perfect. My husband and kids ate the leftovers for the next two days. I would definitely recommend this recipe for a delicious and easy meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
Amazing!! I hate roast but this is delicious! We make it almost every Sunday now. I make my own onion soup mix from scratch, add some sliced mushrooms and red onions, beef bullion and a little white or red wine to the pot. Thank you so much for sharing this!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
This is so easy to make and so delicious! My family loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
It was pretty good, the sauce was simple and easy to turn into a gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
One of the best roast beef ive ever had. I only used one can of cream of mushroom. I seasoned beef with salt, oregano, black pepper then coated with flour. I browned beef before place it crock pot. Added baby carrots and served with mash potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
Tried this recipe for New Years Eve and it was delicious. Followed the recipe as posted and didn't have any regrets for not making any changes. Serves it with sliced French bread and it sure hit the spot for the vey cold holiday. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2015
I like this recipe as a great jumping off point. The gravy was delicious, though it definitely needed thickening and there was too much of it for the meal. (I used the left over gravy in a pork stew I made a couple of nights later.) I wanted to include vegetables with the roast, so I added chunks of onions, potatoes, celery, and parsnips to the bottom of the slow cooker. Before adding the meat to the cooker, I dusted it with flour and seasoned it with McCormick's Montreal Steak Seasoning spice. I browned it in olive oil and a bit of garlic. About an hour before dinner, I added whole baby bella mushrooms. The aroma when cooking was heavenly. There was so much liquid, however, that I debated how best to deal with it. I wound up resorting to my "dirty little secret weapon" -- instant mashed potato flakes which I added directly into the cooker, and then adjusted the seasoning with salt and pepper. My family raved about this meal. The meat and vegetables vanished quickly and we used the gravy liberally. As I mentioned, though, there was a lot of left over gravy; so next time, I will use only one can of soup and half an envelope of onion soup mix . . . .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2015
This is a fabulous recipe, although I now get all my recipes from Allrecipes with great delight. Never disappointed. I rated this pot roast recipe 5 stars because it not only tastes so delicious, but is such a snap to prepare and smells so great while it cooks. I typically to not gravitate to "pot roast," but my job really exhausted me this week, yet I so love to fix good meals on my days off. My expectations were not that high, so I was so so pleasantly surprised with the results. It really hit the spot and I will have some great leftovers to take to work. I modified the ingredients a wee bit, since I had only a 3-pound roast, not 6, so I cut it in half with the exception of the onion soup where I did use the entire envelope. So....1 can of the soup, 1 pkg of onion soup and I used about 3/4 - 1 cup of water. I'll be making this again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
Easy and works well. Followed a few addition pointers found in the comments (ie. pan sear). Everybody was very pleased with the meal. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Philip Mathai

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
Loved it! As a total slacker this is great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Justin Conway

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 6,466) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a super simple, tender pot roast in the crock pot.

Slow Cooker Apple Cider Pot Roast

A melt-in-the-mouth pot roast marinated in apple cider and spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States