Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
Made this recipe and let it cook thru the night. I saw the thousands of reviews, and thought I need to try this. It sounded so simple with just a few ingredients. I also read the negative reviews and I must say, there must be something wrong with those people. This is the by far the BEST roast I have ever made. I know it was the BEST, because my Husband is a Extremely picky man, when it comes to food, and taste. If he had known it had 2 cans of cream of mushroom in it, he would have not even tried it. Just the thought of a mushroom makes him sick. He ate it with Mashed potatoes and the gravy, and he went back for seconds, and even asked if he could lick his plate clean!! When I told him it had cream of mushroom in it, he said he didn't care, it was wonderful! I did take some of the gravy out and add some corn starch and water to thicken it more, but my Tip roast was nearly frozen when I started it in the crock , so the gravy was thin for our liking. You must try this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
I used a cream of celery soup and a cream of mushroom. The celery soup really gives it a great flavor. This is how my grandmom made roast beef. I'd never make it ant other way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2014
Quick and easy prep, set it in the slow cooker before work and come home to a delicious roast. Added some potatoes to the recipe. Simply wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2014
Good, simple recipe. Threw in vegetables and potatoes to make it a more well-rounded dish. Love how easy it is to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
This pot roast was amazingly tender! After reading the other reviews, I sprinkled pepper, a little salt, and a little garlic powder and rubbed on some flour on the meat, then I quickly braised it with some olive oil using a non-stick pan. I added the two cans of cream of mushroom soup and one packet of onion soup mix as recommended in the original recipe, but I also added a teaspoon of Worcestershire sauce, substituted 1 1/4 cups of water with low sodium beef broth, added 2 cans of mushrooms, some carrots, and some new red potatoes. I cooked it on high for 4 hours, then I set the crockpot on low, added the carrots and potatoes and cooked for another 2 hours-my husband loved it and even I liked it, and I am not a big meat lover.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2014
I work all day an hour from home, so I put this in the slow cooker before I left for work (5 A.M.) and served it at 6 P.M. with candied carrots. It was absolutely amazing, and the whole family said so. I wish I made a bigger roast, as there wasn't a scrap left. I followed the recipe exactly and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eli Silverman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Prescott, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2014
EASY EASY EASY!! And my kids devoured it and wanted it in their lunch the next day! It was the first thing they ate at school for 2 days. For kids that don't like it spicy, I love that it's already cooked, and you can add BBQ sauce and mix it up with the already pulled pork and have them taste if they want more. I love that it's a pork tenderloin, and very little fat. My husband said he'd never thought of using a tenderloin for pulled pork, and he's the BBQer-extraordinaire! He wants to do ribs with this recipe.. but in the slow cooker! Ha! I will beat him to it. ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
This is just like it's name AWESOME. It tastes so good and is so easy to throw together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonnie Bourgoine

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
Family loved this recipe. My husband said this was one of the best pot roasts he's ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Haysi, Virginia, USA
Living In: Williamsburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
I know it really bothers some people when someone rates a recipe that they have changed, but to me, if I want to see what a recipe is rated, I just look at the overall star rating. I look at the individual reviews to find out what other people did to make a recipe even better. Having said that... I took some advice from a few people who posted very good advice: I used one can of cream of mushroom and one can of cream of chicken, beef broth instead of water, a little wine, some celery, potatoes, carrots, celtic sea salt, black pepper. Cooked on high for a couple of hours then down to low for the rest of the day. This was by far the best pot roast I've ever tasted, and my husband raved about it. Can't wait to make this again during these chilly days!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 6,369) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Apple Cider Pot Roast

A melt-in-the-mouth pot roast marinated in apple cider and spices.

Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a super simple, tender pot roast in the crock pot.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States