Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: May 14, 2014
I make this often, but I use golden mushroom soup and sliced onion along with the dry onion soup mix. I usually add additional seasonings, depending on the group for whom I'm cooking. Always comes out well with so little effort!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2014
I've used this before. Here are some ideas if you are missing something in your cupboard! Try a can of French onion soup instead of onion soup mix. Its a little less salty! Or try a combo of cream of onion and golden mushroom. Add some cornstarch to thicken and you have a great gravy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2014
Can't go wrong with this easy recipe. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary B

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 13, 2014
This is favorite of ours since I tweaked it bit! :-) I substitute 1 cup beef stock & 1/2 cup sweet red wine for the water and add some dried garlic chips! I also ring the roast with potato halves and carrots. To die for! Note: I DO NOT sear the meat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonny

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2014
Great great great my family loved even my fiancé who hates pot roast!! I added a bag of red, yellow and green peppers turned out excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2014
I followed recipe as is except for a few alterations. I could only find a 3.8 LB beef boston cut roast. I followed others' suggestions and dusted the roast with flour, granulated garlic, salt, and black pepper before searing it on all sides. I added about 1.5 LB of chopped golden Yukon potatoes two hours before it was done. I cooked on low for 7.5 hours total. Let me say it was delicious. This recipe will definitely make its way into the weekly rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2014
Ok, a 5 year old kid could make this recipe (with a pop top can of soup). It's that easy. I used a 4 lb roast and cooked on 9 hours at low and then kept it on warm for another hour. It comes out really tasty and falls apart with a fork. The gravy is thin and more like a "jus" so you may want to thicken it up with some cornstarch. I didn't and it was just a little runny, but I like it that way. There is no need for any additional seasoning. It was nice and salty and flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nantru

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2014
This turned out well! I took the advice of some and added a couple tablespoons of corn starch to thicken the gravy. I also added potatoes and carrots. Next time I will sear the meat before putting into the crock pot for added flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2014
With the onion soup mix, it's SUPER salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyoftwo247

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2014
I don't usually cook dishes that require soup mixes or canned soups, but I thought I'd try something new. If you like your pot roast swimming in some of the strongest gravy you've ever tasted, go ahead and make this, but I'll stick with my old standby recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 6,371) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Apple Cider Pot Roast

A melt-in-the-mouth pot roast marinated in apple cider and spices.

Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a super simple, tender pot roast in the crock pot.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States