Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2014
Very good tasting pot roast and very easy to make. I will certainly make this recipe again. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2014
Delish! And crazy easy! I have made this twice now, and it is great as written (but I always add mushrooms and carrots- they're a must!). The second time I replaced the water with Trader Joe's 40-clove Garlic Sauce and it really kicked it up a notch. Love to have this with EZ drop biscuits!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
This recipe was awesome! Since I was only cooking for 2 people, I followed sdgirl's advice, except I added the full onion soup packet instead of half. At first I was afraid it would be too salty, but it came out perfect! I cooked a bottom angus roast for 4 hours on high and 2 on low and the meat was incredibly tender. The gravy was one of the best I've ever had, and my boyfriend who doesn't usually give out compliments, couldn't compliment me enough on this meal! Definitely going into my weekend rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
We loved this recipe so much! I used beef broth instead of water, and the gravy was AMAZING! I roasted potatoes and carrots in the oven, and served them on the side with heaps of gravy! Soo good, can't wait to make it again! Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2014
The dry onion soup mix includes beef bullion, which I think really conflicts with the pork flavor. Also, this is way too much water to add. I recommend about half. Skip the dry onion soup mix and put in real onions, salt, and pepper to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2014
Wow! Before I tried this recipe (with a few modifications), I couldn't have cared less if I had pot roast. My husband loves pot roast, but I just didn't see what the big draw was. I made this because I wanted to make a special dinner for him. I now CRAVE this recipe for pot roast. I did not follow the recipe exactly. I read some of the reviews and made a substitution of beef broth for the water. I also added sliced onions and a can of sliced mushrooms. I couldn't find a pot roast as large as is called for in the recipe so I used a 2.3 lb. and halved the ingredients. It was just the two of us so there was plenty. I made a gravy by adding a little flour to some of the remaining juice and used it on mashed potatoes. The next day I chunked the leftover roast and added some sour cream in with the juices and served it on top of noodles. That was delicious too. Then on the third day of left overs I shredded the remaining meat and used the juices with sour cream again and poured in over bread. My husband was very, very happy with all his varied leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BGSUgirl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2014
Loved the idea of Onion Soup mixture, but I also added Chopped Onion, Roasted Red Potatoes, and Mushrooms, and used low sodium Beef Broth instead of Water. Delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
This pot roast was great, I made a few modifications based on some of the reviews I read and a few of my own :-) I used one can of cream of mushroom n roasted garlic and one can of golden mushroom. I pour in a 1/2 packet of ranch seasoning to the soup mixture and added the water. I seared the roast on all sides with flour and seasoned it lightly with onion salt n pepper and a little of the ranch packet. I pulled out the pot roast and sautéed two cloves of fresh garlic in the drippings. I added the roast, and garlic enhanced drippings to the slow cooker and poured in the soup and ranch mixture. I cut up 3 potatoes, 2 onions and drizzled them in olive oil and added a few sprinkles of the remaining ranch packet and put them in the slow cooker with the roast! Yummy!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
This came out excellent, instead of water I used 1 cup red wine and 1/4 cup chicken stock. I normally stay with the recipe but just had an urge this time. I don't usually use the slow cooker but had some errands to run. Great recipe.... thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eatumup

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bradford, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
My roast was borderline inedible, so overly dry and cardboard-like it was disgusting. But I think it's my fault - the problem was the cut of meat I used: top round roast. I see other reviews now that recommend other cuts - wish I'd used one of them instead! So this is just a word of warning for those considering it - DO NOT use a top round roast. There isn't enough fat and it comes out super dry and bland!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Germantown, Maryland, USA
Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 6,312) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Apple Cider Pot Roast

A melt-in-the-mouth pot roast marinated in apple cider and spices.

Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a super simple, tender pot roast in the crock pot.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States