Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: May 14, 2014
I have used this recipe for years with consistently great results. I use chuck roast. For a larger roast I double the soups. For a twist I sometimes substitute red wine for the water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2014
I have always used this recipe and think it's the best (and easiest) in the world. Everyone who has had it, loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2014
I have also made this in the oven. same recipe but I do a 3lb chuck roast. and cook on 325 for 3 hours covered in foil no peeking
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2014
Instead of using water with the other ingredients, add 1 1/4 cups red wine. Makes all the difference in the world. I have basically used this recipe for over 35 years. You can also substitute beefy mushroom soup for one of the cans of plain mushroom. It is a very simple & easy recipe to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2014
My children are now in their 30s; I've been using this recipe since they were in elementary school, except it was called "Round Steak in Rich Gravy. I quartered the steak & set it in the crockpot, topped it with cream of mushroom soup, one packet of Lipton onion soup mix and 1/2 soup can of water. It cooked all day while I was at work and the smell was awesome when I got home. Poured juices from crockpot into a saucepan, added some cornstarch mixed with a little water, whisk and heat until thickened. Mashed potatoes & veggies on the side. The meat was very tender. I have tried it with pot roast and it's fantastic too. Warning: don't make this on weekends as it will drive your hubby crazy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2014
I've made this recipe a few times and it is awesome! My roasts never turn out and are always dry, but with this recipe, the roast is so tender and pulls apart. The mushroom soup and onion mix makes an awesome gravy for the roast and the potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2014
I have made this a lot and like it. For people with MSG problems, use Healthy Request Cream of Mushroom soup and delete the onion soup mix unless it is MSG free. Instead you can add a beef broth that is MSG free. What to do with leftovers? Let the gravy and beef cool and the potatoes, carrots and onions also if they were added to the meat when cooking. When cool enough to handle, cut them all into chunks. Put the left over gravy, meat and vegetables in a freezer bag and pop it into the freezer. When you want to make homemade vegetable soup, I add homemade tomato juice, tomatoes and canned green beans as well as frozen corn, broccoli, cauliflower, peas, anything in the freezer from the garden. You can also add barley. Put it all in a slow cooker. You might want to add additional onion chunks. If you add everything frozen, it can cook all day on low to be ready for dinner. If defrosted, cook on low until lunch time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2014
I have made this recipe a number of times, usually with a bottom round roast. It is GREAT! Everyone always raves about it [My husband and I are alone so this is usually served to company]. I am constantly giving out the recipe. I brown it on the gas grill and substitute the water with 3/4 cup red wine and 1/2 cup beef broth. Gravy is delicious. Thank you All Recipes!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2014
I make this often, but I use golden mushroom soup and sliced onion along with the dry onion soup mix. I usually add additional seasonings, depending on the group for whom I'm cooking. Always comes out well with so little effort!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2014
I've used this before. Here are some ideas if you are missing something in your cupboard! Try a can of French onion soup instead of onion soup mix. Its a little less salty! Or try a combo of cream of onion and golden mushroom. Add some cornstarch to thicken and you have a great gravy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 6,369) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Apple Cider Pot Roast

A melt-in-the-mouth pot roast marinated in apple cider and spices.

Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a super simple, tender pot roast in the crock pot.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States