Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
This recipe rocked! I bought tri tip like others suggested made half portions of everything and sautéed it with garlic, salt, pepper, and a lil seasoning salt and dried rosemary dredged it in flour and used olive oil to sear on both sides. My crock pot is a bit small and oval so the sauce I cut in half didn't fully submerge it so at the end I went to shred it and the bottom was tender and top not so much so I then flipped it and continued cooking another hour on high! So my total time cooking was 6 hours on high and I did half hour on low at the end. Gravy came out thick had no problems! Made a side of garlic mashed potatoes and added creamed corn atop. And some dinner rolls. Now I regret breaking the new diet I'm suppose to be on! ! Lol tomorrow will be salad and fruit all day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gina Ghenwa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
I made this many times, I sear my roast in pan of butter/oil, and flour the roast lightly, I ad salt. pepper, thyme, to the roast before searing. I also ad low sodium beef broth in place of the water, this last time I used a packet of onion gravy because the store was out of onion soup mix and actually liked it better with the onion gravy packet. 2 cans of condensed mushroom soup, I add carrots at the beginning, & potatoes half way through, the onion gravy packet was wonderful,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherminator

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Washington, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
Made recipe as is, we love it! Simple and easy. Use it all the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
Super easy to make and turned out very tender, just the way I like it. I followed the directions nearly exactly, just added beef broth instead of water for a little extra flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
I only had a small roast so I just used one can of soup, replaced the onion soup with a package of au jus and used red wine instead of water. I also browned the roast prior to putting in the crock pot. It turned out excellent! Will definitely make again and may try a different type of soup. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
Love this recipe. I use tri-tip. Lightly coated the meat flour and browned in olive oil first. Use one can regular mushroom soup, the other I use golden mushroom soup. I sometimes add beef stock instead of water. I've tried with and without adding vegetables (potatoes and carrots and some onions) -- usually for the last 3 hours of cooking. It's great with or without. I use the leftover gravy over rice or potatoes. I've also used the leftover beef with BBQ sauce to make sloppy joes (wipe off excess gravy and pull apart with forks). Yum. I usually cook this on low for about 8 hours (I cook it in my garage, so the house doesn't smell like it for days).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
Not bad, not great. It needed a bit more flavor for my palate. Maybe with some wine, rosemary, bay leaf, etc. I will be curious to try it tomorrow and see if it has improved overnight. I will enjoy the leftovers... just wish it had a bit more oomph.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
Great quick and easy recipe - use whatever creamy soup you have, and brown the roast all over in a little oil in the frying pan before adding to the slow cooker. Deglaze the pan and add the liquid as well. Have used all cuts for this and yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2014
I did not like the smell and the taste so much. My husband thought it was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nel de Vos

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
Very tasty and super super super easy. I only gave it 4 stars because I felt like it could have been more flavorful, and I think next time I'll add some minced garlic or also toss in some actual onion. All in all, it was fantastic and there was even tons of "gravy" left over to freeze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Autumn Sliwka

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dayton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Gladstone, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 6,422) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a super simple, tender pot roast in the crock pot.

Slow Cooker Apple Cider Pot Roast

A melt-in-the-mouth pot roast marinated in apple cider and spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States