Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: May 18, 2014
The problem with this version of the recipe is the addition of the water. One can of mushroom soup and one package of onion mix.....about 3 lb. roast. Cook in slow cooker 8 hours. Great gravy, wonderful meat....tender, tender, tender. Serve with potatoes and vegetables. Wonderful, simple meal .....then give it 5 stars !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marge Williams

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Orange, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2014
I tried this recipe tonight exactly as printed and I must say I was quite disappointed. It was not flavorful, the color was unappetizing, it looked nothing like the picture and did not taste like a savory, juicy comforting pot roast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2014
I was making this recipe when I first started cooking about 50 years ago! It's okay for beginners. It also doesn't have to be done in a slow cooker, as you can do it in a slow oven (and bake your potatoes at the same time).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2014
If you put in all that water, you'll have a mess on your hands. I use the mushroom soup, the envelope of onion soup, and add 1 4 oz. can of sliced mushrooms with the liquid. Throw in some garlic and cook on low for 8 hours, and you are good to go.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2014
I've been using this recipe for at least 20 years now, and it is always a hit at church suppers and at home. I used beefy mushroom dry soup mix, but it has apparently been discontinued so I now use beefy onion mix. You can also substitute round steak and probably a lot of other beef cuts. On a larger piece of meat, I use 2 packets and 2 cans. There are lots of ways to "customize" this to your family's taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2014
This is my go to pot roast, and the gravy it makes is amazing! Now I've got the parents and in-laws cooking it for holiday meals :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2014
This is a winner. And some of you need to get out and realize that there are all sorts of low sodium products out there. And for the purist: so make your own mushroom soup and use that. This is such a far cry from ''fast food''.....ha
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2014
I r always flour and brown my roast first and I always use a chuck roast for this, versus a rump or bottom round for my main recipe. I have used cream of celery soup and Savory Garlic soup mix as substitutes and it still came out amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2014
Had a good flavor, we used cream of celery because family members do not like mushrooms. We thought it was too salty so next time we will look for low sodium soup. Our slow cooker has an auto shift function so it cooks on high for a while then goes to low. We cooked using this mode for 9 hours (while at work) and that was too long... will leave on low next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2014
I have made this same recipe for years. Sometimes I brown the roast first and also add some worcestershire sauce. I usually only add about half a soupcan of water though. I like to layer carrots under the roast too. It has always been liked by everyone. I have also used Golden Mushroom soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burleson, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 6,369) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Apple Cider Pot Roast

A melt-in-the-mouth pot roast marinated in apple cider and spices.

Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a super simple, tender pot roast in the crock pot.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States