Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
Wow I made this tonight and it was soooooo good! Even my picky 10 year old gobbled it up. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina Long Kehoe

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
This is an ideal dish for a busy day. I made a few alterations. I seasoned and floured the beef and then seared it very well in a cast iron skillet before putting it in the crock pot. Also, I don’t like the overpowering flavor of the soup mix, so I used half the amount and sprinkled a little beef bouillon in with the mushroom soup. It couldn’t be easier: make it and forget it. This was perfect served over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
I've made this recipe a few times now with some additions, and it comes out great every time. First, in addition to everything above, I sub out the water for beef broth (no brainer). I also like to chop up a few carrots and stalks of celery, which go right into the pot to cook the whole time. This adds some extra flavor to the broth, and they're super tender when it comes time to eat. I strain the juices into a pot at the end to get out some of the fat, and add some flour to them before boiling on the stove for a bit. After a touch of salt and pepper to taste, it makes a nice, thick gravy that we all enjoy. From there, I always whip up some mashed potatoes and serve with a loaf of bread. This recipe always goes over well with my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
This is the best pot roast ever...flavorful and so easy to make. My husband was born and raised in Iowa and is very picky about his beef roast, potatoes and gravy. He loves this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
Using Golden Mushroom soup makes this much, much better. It's a family favorite when done this way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
I always read a lot of reviews before trying recipes. The reviews for this one go from one extreme to the other. But people have different tastes and ideas of what is good so you can't just believe you would love it based on someone else loving it. You shouldn't be upset or nasty if it doesn't work for your family, and you sure shouldn't swear off the entire website over it! When two people cook the same cut of meat for the same amount of time using the same ingredients and one is tough and dry and the other is falling apart tender and juicy the difference is likely in the slow cooker you are using. I have personally never even been able to dry out a piece of meat in either of my slow cookers. Guess I'm just lucky. By the way, my family does love this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
Great, it makes a good gravy to put over potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
Delicious! I used one can low fat cream of mushroom and one can low fat cream of celery soup, as well as beef broth instead of water. I also added some halved mini potatoes, diced onions, and sliced carrots into the slow cooker for the full cooking time. Everything came out delicious, and the gravy was incredible! Used a quarter cup-ish of corn starch and water to thicken up the gravy in the last few minutes. Meat was so tender, veggies were perfect, gravy was to die for. A whole dinner in one pot - with so little effort!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
I added in some cut potatoes, carrots and celery. The cream of mushroom and onion soup creates a gravy, which gives this roast more flavor than most.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dee Dee Matthews

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seaford, Virginia, USA
Living In: Noblesville, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2014
Very good tasting pot roast and very easy to make. I will certainly make this recipe again. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 6,303) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Apple Cider Pot Roast

A melt-in-the-mouth pot roast marinated in apple cider and spices.

Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a super simple, tender pot roast in the crock pot.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States