Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
I have to say I was a little skeptical about this recipe but decided to try it anyway because of so many good ratings. I first seared it with Grill Mates steak seasoning then followed the recipe as directed. OMG!!! This was sooooo yummy! Came out extremely tender, juicy and tasty. I added small white potatoes, carrots and celery as well. My kids loved it. Even my 1 1/2 yr old loved it! Will definitely keep this recipe! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glendale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2014
This is a wonderful recipe. I did sear the roast prior to putting in the crock pot. After searing, I cut the roast in to smaller serving pieces. The meat was extremely tender. I also added onions, potatoes and carrots. YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2014
Great and tasty recipe. I tweaked it a bit though. I didn't used condensed cream of mushroom soup. It has too many unnecessary and unhealthy ingredients in my opinion. I bought presliced baby bella mushrooms and organic beef broth. Caramelize chopped sweet onion in olive oil, then add mushrooms, let mushrooms brown. In a small bowl mix together 2 tablespoons of flour and beef broth to the consistency of a runny batter. Pour some beef broth to the skillet with onions and mushrooms and add the flour mixture. Let it heat up and pour it over the meat in a crock pot. Add more broth to cover meat. Done. I added a bit more flour at the end of cooking to thicken the gravy. It turned out delicious and without unnecessary ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
My children want to know when we are doing it again. They LOVED it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
This was awesome! I said I'd never make changes and then rate a recipe but here I am tweaking it a bit. I used a 3 pound bottom round roast and sprinkled it on both sides with garlic powder, onion powder and a little black pepper. I then seared both sides in a pan coated with nonstick spray. In the crockpot I mixed two cans of cream of mushroom soup, a dry packet of au jus seasoning and a dry packet of onion soup mix. I mixed it all together with approximately a 1.5-2 cups water. I then mixed in two 6 ounce cans of mushrooms and cut up a small onion. I placed the roast in the mixture and spooned the sauce all over the meat. I covered it and cooked it on low for 8 hours. I sliced it very thin and served it with mashed potatoes and petite green beans. The sauce made a wonderful gravy, just the right flavor and consistency. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2014
Fixed this the other day. Threw in small red potatoes, celery, carrots and an onion. I did sear the meat prior to adding it to the crockpot but not entirely sure if it was needed. Husband said that it tasted like his mother's. So easy and delicious. I'll be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2014
I have made this numerous times! I tweak it and play with it too. Like instead of water I'll use low salt or no salt beef broth or red wine and add 1 tbs or 2 of Old Bay Rub it has brown sugar in it, yum! When I use the Old Bay I try to use low sodium onion mix too or else its too salty. Of course I brown the roast well on all sides first. Also put fingerling potatoes or red potatoes, carrot and onion.When I'm not using bay Rub I like to use lots of fresh herbs, Rosemary and thyme. Once I used a Moroccan spice blend instead of fresh herbs or Bay Rub. It was pretty amazing. I just love how you can play with this recipe a lot and have fun without, for the most part ruining dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherry Wood

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2014
Awesome Recipe.. Will surely be making it again.. The Kids loved the Mash Potatoes with the Left over Sauce in Crock Pot for our Side Dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2014
Delicious! I didn't have the cream of mushroom soup or the onion soup mix on hand (and I wanted to make it gluten free) so I made my own cream soup using butter, gf flour, chicken broth, milk and salt and pepper. Then I found an onion soup mix recipe on here (onion flakes, onion powder, paprika, celery seed, salt, pepper, parsley and beef bouillon. I mixed those together in my saucepan and added 1 cup water and 1tb worcestershire sauce. I set that aside and heat 1tb butter in a cast iron skillet on high heat. I coated my roast with gf flour salt and pepper and seared on all sides. I laid roast in pot and deglazed my skillet with dry sherry. I poured the sherry and soup mix over the roast. I added fresh chopped onion, garlic, carrot, rutabaga, parsnip, and red potatoes. I cooked on high for 4 hours, then on low for 2. The last two hours the meat really got tender. I also used a 3lb buffalo arm roast. Will definitely make again! My new hubby loved it and even fried some up for breakfast to go with his egg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jlind
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
This recipe rocked! I bought tri tip like others suggested made half portions of everything and sautéed it with garlic, salt, pepper, and a lil seasoning salt and dried rosemary dredged it in flour and used olive oil to sear on both sides. My crock pot is a bit small and oval so the sauce I cut in half didn't fully submerge it so at the end I went to shred it and the bottom was tender and top not so much so I then flipped it and continued cooking another hour on high! So my total time cooking was 6 hours on high and I did half hour on low at the end. Gravy came out thick had no problems! Made a side of garlic mashed potatoes and added creamed corn atop. And some dinner rolls. Now I regret breaking the new diet I'm suppose to be on! ! Lol tomorrow will be salad and fruit all day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gina Ghenwa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 6,311) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Apple Cider Pot Roast

A melt-in-the-mouth pot roast marinated in apple cider and spices.

Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a super simple, tender pot roast in the crock pot.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States