Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2015
made this last night, as the recipe says, plus a cup of red wine. i put on high for 4 hours and the meat was cooked, but tough. i turned to low and left for two more hours and it turned out perfect. i added some a flour water mix to the gravy, it was delicious. I don't know if it was because of the red wine but the smell while cooking was strange, it wasn't looking promising, but it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2015
The ONLY way to make pot roast! I add garlic and bay leaf and that's it. Yummy! ??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2015
I should have avoided this recipe because I don't like canned creamed soups of any flavor. The mushroom turned out to be the worst of the many flavors in cans. But it seemed so easy and convenient I just had to try it. But then any slow cooker meal is super easy and convenient anyway! I made my own version of this without the creamed soup and just thickened the gravy. I just threw in some cut up mushrooms and chopped onions with a can of beef stock and my favorite beef seasonings, bay leaf, thyme, seasoned salt and pepper and turned on the slow cooker. The gravy taste was perfect and thickened after removing the meat to the serving plate to "set" before cutting. For a creamy gravy like my family prefers I used a light cream mixed into the liquid. Butter and flour melted and whisked together until blended well and just slowly poured in the juice from the roast that I mixed in 1/2 cup cream and stirred until it thickened. It was super easy and very tasty. My family loved it and asked me never to make it with the soup again. No problem.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2015
Is there something I can use other then the dry onion soup mix? Its way to salty for me and my husband..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2015
Excellent! I didn't add water and the gravy came out perfect! No need for thickening at all. I also used Lipton beefy onion soup mix. Had a bit of a stroganoff flavor which was a delightful change to pot roast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2015
Very delicious! The only issue I had was that after being in the crackpot for 8 hours the meat could have been more tender. I actually poked holes in the meat and pushed garlic cloves in, then I made a mixture of fresh rosemary, thyme, olive oil, crushed garlic and salt. I rubbed this mixture on the outside of the roast and browned the meat in a non stick pan. Then I transferred to the crockpit with the mushroom soup and onion soup mix. The gravy was delicious and so was the meat. Next time I will either try a different cut of meat or slice the meat about one hour before I am ready to serve and put the slices back into the sauce and maybe the thinner slices will soften. Thanks for a great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2015
This is an Awesome Recipe! My family loves this. I have made it several times. I have made this exactly as written and I have made it using Cream of Chicken Soup in place of the Cream of Mushroom Soup. It is very good both ways. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2015
BOOMChakalaka! Claimed by my SO to be "The best dish you have ever made for me," I found it so delicious & TENDER and and thinking he might be right. After removing the fat, I did brown/sear the (Chuck Tender Roast) meat in a smidge of olive oil. It only took 5 minutes and I did it on all 6 sides. Adjusted and followed the recipe according to the roast size. [I used Fat Free Cream of Mushroom soup, though.] Since I put it on the low setting, I added an onion, some baby carrots, couple chopped stalks of celery, and rooster potatoes about two hours before the 8 would be up. It was so wonderful last week that this week I have a larger roast and am starting it now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GrapeBananas

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2015
the best way to make this pot roast is to put roast in a deep roaster 3to 4 lb roast add 2cans of golden cream of mushroom soup 2 cans of cream of celery soup 2cans of beef broth pour over beef salt pepper optional,put directly in oven pre-heated to 350 degrees in 1/2 hr take a heaping tablespoon of flour and stir into soup mixture this makes your gravy QUARTER a lrg. onion and add to beef you can also add carrots and throw in potatoes the last hour of cooking this will melt in your mouth and makes great sandwiches for later My husband loves it. Roiast 350 degrees
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shippensburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2015
I made this yesterday with angus beef eye of round roast that I scored for 50% off due to sell by date. My husband has hated the crockpot and what it does to meat, but seeing how we are a month shy of being a family of 4 I have really been looking for simple recipes. He came home yesterday and gobbled up not one, but two servings and kept complimenting me on how delicious it was. I did follow the simple recommendations of trimming off the fat, salting/peppering the meat, coating with flour and searing it on all sides. Off into the crockpot it went with dry onion soup mix and cream of mushroom with roasted garlic soup cans. It was about 4lbs so I decided to cook it on high for 3 1/2 hours. Hubby had to work late though so after 2.75 hours of high I changed it to 1.5 hours on low. I'm sure that didn't make any difference, but it came out sooo good. I got doctor appointments done and even went to bookstore with my daughter while this was just cooking away. Oh and my husband? He's encouraging me to use the slow cooker more often now. ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 6,445) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a super simple, tender pot roast in the crock pot.

Slow Cooker Apple Cider Pot Roast

A melt-in-the-mouth pot roast marinated in apple cider and spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States