Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2015
I LOVE this pot roast. We've made it at least 10X and it's PERFECT every time. So easy it's ridiculous. I do sear the roast on all sides before putting in the pot, use red wine in place of the water, and deglaze the searing pan with a little more red wine. Still only takes about 10 minutes to get this going. I am a gravy maniac and it blows my mind how good this gravy is, especially since it's SO simple. You know you've got to make mashed potatoes with this. I've served it several times for company but will never tell my guests how easy it is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2015
Excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
Made this this morning and it cooked in 5 hours on high setting. This was by far the best tasting roast ever! I did not change anything only added a few seasons of my liking and only one cup of water. The gravy was perfect thickness. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
Easy & delicious. I cook it overnight. In
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2015
Funny thing...this is how I' made Pot Roast for the last 25 of 30 years. And, my kids (now married, with families of their own), LOVED it. And, as it's written and cooked, I give it 4 stars. Then, I traveled to my youngest for a visit last year, & she served "Pot Roast"!!! But, she made it with two differences from this recipe. I always braise my meat in flour first, even with the "old" recipe. Well, she does too, BUT, she uses "Montreal Steak Seasoning" to season it. Then, she uses (get this!) "Golden mushroom" soup, instead of the cream kind, and a little flour for thickening. It was at LEAST a 100 times better! True, they haven't had golden mushroom out that long, but still! I admit...I ate like a glutton, ('till my 8 year old Grandson mentioned how many times Gramma had gotten more)!!! Try it...you will LOVE it!!! Blessings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2015
I made this last night with a few add on. I read all a few reviews and I went with sdgirl suggestions. I did not have mushroom soup so I made my own, which I love and it gave me a chance to add more mushrooms. It was so tender and juicy. and the gravy was fab. My husband kissed the cook :) Definitely a five star recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Omc McGuire

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2015
Super easy and good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Minooka, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AUNTEEANNA
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2015
I accidentally bought Top Round Steak London Broil for $16.95! I called my mother for im further instructions...she said I always had champaign taste on a beer budget. I'm just learning! Easy peasy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2015
This was perfect! Took about 5-10 minutes of prep time before work and it was done and delicious when I got home. Only things I will try next time are regular cream of mushroom (the cream of mushroom soup I used was low sodium and needed salt), adding 2-3 tablespoons of flour before adding the roast to thicken the gravy, and slicing the roast 1-2 hours before serving or extra flavor and tenderness. All around this was super easy and amazing. I was hoping for leftovers to make Shepards pie the next night but my husband and I ate the whole 3 pound roast throughout the evening. I will be making this for dinner once a week now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2015
I followed the recipe very closely. I used 4.5 lbs of roast and added some potatoes and carrots. I also cooked it on high for about 7 hours. It was very tender. The gravy was really thin, and we had to add a lot of salt, but overall it tasted pretty decent. It was very easy to make, and that was also a plus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charlotte Gouvier

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Homewood, Alabama, USA
Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 6,402) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Apple Cider Pot Roast

A melt-in-the-mouth pot roast marinated in apple cider and spices.

Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a super simple, tender pot roast in the crock pot.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States