Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2002
I have made this recipe at least 15 times. What I have found that the best cut of meat to use is a tri-tip roast. There is no need to brown the meat but I do recommend triming off as much fat as possible. One problem I had was that there was always too much gravy left over. I have recently discovered that this recipe comes out just as spectacular using one can of soup and half a can of water. Do use the regular amount of onion soup mix. It should be cooked to perfection in about six hours. I also have a suggestion on the type of slowcooker used. I first tried making this recipe in a small Nesco but it was not able to keep the roast completely immersed in the soup mixture. I use a Rival. It is 7 inches wide and about 5 inches deep. This is the most typical slowcooker around. Finally a word on adding vegetables. I tried adding carrots and potatoes to this recipe and for some reason the gravy was not very flavorful. For this reason I just leave them out. Good luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10997 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2006
If you are looking for the perfect roast recipe then look no further! I read pages and pages of the reviews & then took some of the suggestions and modified the recipe a bit. The result was spectacular – I will be making this dish again and again. Since there are just two of us I bought a 2.5 lb chuck roast and I lightly covered with a mixture of flour, garlic salt and dried rosemary and then seared all sides with a bit of unsalted butter. I added baby carrots, sweet onion, small red potatoes and celery. For the gravy I combined 2 cans of 99%fat free cream of mushroom soup, ½ a packet of onion soup mix, 1 tbs of Worcestershire sauce, ¼ cup of red wine and 1 cup of beef broth & cooked on high for 4 hours and low for 2 hours. The meat was so tender and the gravy was absolutely delectable. It was a bit thin so I just thickened up with a bit of flour. I served with cheese risotto (Safeway brand) and French bread. I can honestly say this was one of the best meals I’ve ever made…. HIGHLY recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8828 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DIANE73162
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2002
OK.... I tried this recipe using a 4 lb. angus bottom round roast, and after reading all the reviews that said the gravy needed to be thickened. I decided to flour the roast with flour, granulated garlic, salt and pepper. Then I browned it on all sides in a little olive oil. While it was browning on the stove, I added the rest of the ingredients to the slow cooker, I also put in two 4 oz. cans of mushrooms. However, I substituded the water for beef broth (same amount) and when the roast was done browning, I put it in the slow cooker and covered it with the mixture in the slow cooker. I also cooked it on low for 4 hours then high for the rest of the time. It came out VERY tender. No need to thicken the gravy, because the flour thickened it while it was cooking. My picky 12 yr old daughter (who eats like a bird) ate some for dinner, then again when she got home that night, and my 9 yr old son asked me to make this more often. I served it with mashed potatoes and canned corn. It was the easiest pot roast I ever made!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6669 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2002
I wasn't able to follow this recipe, since I didn't have the soup and onion mix. But I wanted to add a tip that makes cooking in a crockpot SO much easier. Line the crockpot with a Reynold's oven cooking bag, Turkey size, or smaller depending on the size of your crockpot. Cooking time is the same. Then the best part, clean up. Just remove the ingredients, lift out the bag, and your done! The crockpot remains clean.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2375 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jandtsmom

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2002
BADA-BING! I have been making this recipe for quite some time now, with the exception of the cream of mushroom soup. The soup adds that OOMPH to the gravy that I have been looking for! I used beef broth instead of the water, & added 2 TBSP of corn starch to thicken it up before serving. In the last 3 hours cooking in the crock pot I added fresh carrots, green beans, potatoes & sliced onions. YUM! The family LOVES it & when my neighbors find out I'm making it, they always take dibs on the leftovers! Thanks Brenda!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2350 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2002
Best tasting pot roast I ever had. To make it a little healthier, I cooked it all day on low and then refrigerated it. The next evening I was able to peel off over a 1" layer of beef fat that had hardened on the top and reheat the pot roast in the oven. I realize this defeated the 'dinner ready when you get home' purpose of a crockpot but this process removed at least 1000 calories from the dish and it still tasted fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2268 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAULINAJ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Palatine, Illinois, USA
Living In: Woodstock, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2002
Just an additional note to say that it's important to sear the meat on all sides before adding to the crockpot- it only takes a few minutes and really helps to seal in the juices of the meat. I made it yesterday and forgot to sear the meat first. Still tasted good but not nearly as moist as when I've seared the roast first. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1582 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2002
I seasoned the roast with salt, pepper, and Lawry's Seasoning Salt. I browned the roast on all sides in a hot skillet with a little olive oil in it. I transfered the roast to the slow cooker. I added the water to the skillet and scraped up all the bits and pieces of meat that have so much flavor. I substituted a package of dry "au jus" mix for the onion soup mix and blended this and the mushroom soup with the water in the skillet. I put sliced onions on top of the roast, added some minced garlic, and poured the liquid over the roast. The longer you cook it, the better it gets. It is a family favorite ~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1125 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2002
This recipe is excellent and you can't really tell canned cream of mushroom soup was used for gravy. A couple of things I substitute is an envelope of pre-packaged "pot roast" seasoning (McCormick's Bag 'n Season) instead of onion soup mix, and red burgundy wine instead of water. I also add diced yukon gold potatoes, carrots, mushrooms and sliced onions at the bottom of the crockpot. Cooking time for a 4-lb. roast is usually 9 hours on Low and the longer the better. I thicken the gravy slightly with cornstarch and water at the very end. Overall, very very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
924 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2002
This is the best!!!! The whole house had a wonderful aroma all day. It is the best roast I have ever had and probably the easiest. I did not brown the meat ,but rubbed the roast with cajun spice. I used cream of chicken and a can of french onion , 1 pkg dry beefy onion and used a coke instead of the water. I can't wait to make it again!!!!Thanks Thanks Thanks to Brenda
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
699 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 6,369) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Apple Cider Pot Roast

A melt-in-the-mouth pot roast marinated in apple cider and spices.

Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a super simple, tender pot roast in the crock pot.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States