Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
Tried this recipe for New Years Eve and it was delicious. Followed the recipe as posted and didn't have any regrets for not making any changes. Serves it with sliced French bread and it sure hit the spot for the vey cold holiday. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2015
I like this recipe as a great jumping off point. The gravy was delicious, though it definitely needed thickening and there was too much of it for the meal. (I used the left over gravy in a pork stew I made a couple of nights later.) I wanted to include vegetables with the roast, so I added chunks of onions, potatoes, celery, and parsnips to the bottom of the slow cooker. Before adding the meat to the cooker, I dusted it with flour and seasoned it with McCormick's Montreal Steak Seasoning spice. I browned it in olive oil and a bit of garlic. About an hour before dinner, I added whole baby bella mushrooms. The aroma when cooking was heavenly. There was so much liquid, however, that I debated how best to deal with it. I wound up resorting to my "dirty little secret weapon" -- instant mashed potato flakes which I added directly into the cooker, and then adjusted the seasoning with salt and pepper. My family raved about this meal. The meat and vegetables vanished quickly and we used the gravy liberally. As I mentioned, though, there was a lot of left over gravy; so next time, I will use only one can of soup and half an envelope of onion soup mix . . . .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2015
This is a fabulous recipe, although I now get all my recipes from Allrecipes with great delight. Never disappointed. I rated this pot roast recipe 5 stars because it not only tastes so delicious, but is such a snap to prepare and smells so great while it cooks. I typically to not gravitate to "pot roast," but my job really exhausted me this week, yet I so love to fix good meals on my days off. My expectations were not that high, so I was so so pleasantly surprised with the results. It really hit the spot and I will have some great leftovers to take to work. I modified the ingredients a wee bit, since I had only a 3-pound roast, not 6, so I cut it in half with the exception of the onion soup where I did use the entire envelope. So....1 can of the soup, 1 pkg of onion soup and I used about 3/4 - 1 cup of water. I'll be making this again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
Easy and works well. Followed a few addition pointers found in the comments (ie. pan sear). Everybody was very pleased with the meal. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Philip Mathai

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
Loved it! As a total slacker this is great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Justin Conway

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
pretty freakin' yummy with some changes... mixed 1 can cream of mushroom with one packet Herbox sodium free beef bullion, dried onion soup mix, chopped fresh garlic and 2 cups water to pour over and under. also put onions on bottom and added carrots and potatoes! delish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
This was great, and so easy to make! I was looking for a good pork roast recipe and came across this one not realizing it was for beef. I went ahead and made it anyway after reading all the positive reviews, and I was not disappointed! I will def make this again but next time I will try it with beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
Easy to make,used a pressure cooker instead of a slow cooker.The meat came out so tender. Definitely will make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
Perfect pot roast every time! Not chewy, and quite delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
Browned the meat. Half cup beef broth, Carrots, sliced onion, sliced portobello mushrooms, ground fresh pepper, meat then can of cream of mushroom soup in that order. Added cornstarch to make gravy when it was done. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 6,431) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a super simple, tender pot roast in the crock pot.

Slow Cooker Apple Cider Pot Roast

A melt-in-the-mouth pot roast marinated in apple cider and spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States