Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by Julie
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
Great recipe! The only change I made was I used a pack of pot roast seasoning mix instead of dry onion soup mix. I also added a half of an onion. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
I've been making this pot roast recipe for a few years. It is delicious and extremely simple as written. Over the years I have adapted it for my family's taste: cream of mushroom with garlic, chunks of onion for flavor in the slow cooker, seasoned salt, black pepper, dried thyme, garlic powder, onion powder, and beef broth instead of water. Like I said, though, it has great flavor as written and I'm so thankful this recipe was shared!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookTo$ave

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
I have made pot roast countless ways and this is by far one of the best, and easiest! I didn't have the onion soup mix the last time I made this, so I improvised and used dried minced onion from my spice rack, 2 crumbled beef bouillon cubes, and replaced the water with beef broth. Whisked it all together with the cream of mushroom and placed the roast in. Still turned out fabulous. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gideon's Mummy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cheswick, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2014
This was my first time making a pot roast in my crock pot.... I did exactly as the recipe said and it was WONDERFUL. I will be making this again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beccacheek

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fleetwood, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2014
I have made a variation of this recipe for over 40 years and it is easy, makes great gravy and we love it. However, to add more flavor and create a more tender roast, first I dust the meat with flour and season well with salt and pepper, then SEAR the meat in a bit of oil on all sides till well-browned. I then combine in a bowl 1 cup of red wine, 2 cans of GOLDEN mushrom soup, 1 pkg. dry onion-mushroom soup mix and pour over the roast I have placed in the crockpot. If I have time, I also add about 1# of saute'ed mushrooms and about 4-6 cloves of roasted garlic. Served over rice, potatoes or noodles, it is a wonderful, comforting, hearty meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WENDYINTEXAS

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2014
I really loved this one! The gravy was great for putting on mashed potatoes as well as the roast!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Martin Duran Jr

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2014
This recipes is one of my Family's favorite dinners. We love it! The gravy is awesome over potatoes or rice. Sometimes we add mushrooms. This is what's for dinner tonight. It's so simple to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2014
Great and easy recipe. Instead of water I used a can of beef broth. My little one couldn't stop asking for more. Oh and before I added my meet I did flour it like a few others noted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2014
I liked it. It was easy and the gravy was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen Swinton

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2014
We are trying this for the first time tonight. Everything is in the crock pot now and it smells amazing. I did add some cream of celery soup as well, just for extra flavor. I can't wait!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 6,358) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Apple Cider Pot Roast

A melt-in-the-mouth pot roast marinated in apple cider and spices.

Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a super simple, tender pot roast in the crock pot.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States