Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2015
This was perfect! I purchased a smaller roast so used only one can of cream of mushroom soup. It worked beautifully. My husband especially enjoyed the gravy. He had leftover slices of roast with gravy over bread the next day for lunch and loved that too. Thanks for a keeper recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2015
I took advice from another reviewer and only used one can of mushroom soup and half the water. (I did use Golden Mushroom soup because that's what I had on hand.) It made plenty gravy for us. I did find it was a tad bit salty though. I will try low sodium soup next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2015
This pot roast was amazing! My husband said he could eat it every night..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2015
This recipe is fantastic!! I am not sure why there are low stars on this, perhaps you did do something wrong because I've followed this recipe exact every time and it always comes out super tender and flavorful. Thanks for sharing this recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2015
An overall good experience. I chose of cut of beef that was a "chuck" to ensure it was tender and almost falling apart. Since 2.65 lbs set me back $16 (a little pricy for me), I had to cut this recipe in half. I then obviously cut all the recipe measurements in half. The one issue was that the gravy was watery. It just didn't seem to thicken up on a slow cook for 7 hours. I actually used 1/2 cup of water-a little less than an even split of the listed measurement. Even with cutting back a little on the water, I did not get thick gravy. STILL, the meat was wonderful! the favoring was perfect and the short list of ingredients was so ideal for me and my schedule. I will definitely make again. If I get the same size, I now know to use even a little less water. If I treat my family and get the 5 pounds, I'll stick with about 1 cup of water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2015
SUPER easy, tender and delicious results. The gravy DID need some thickening with cornstarch, but otherwise no changes made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cowgirll

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2015
Makes a great tasting roast. Juicy and tender. BUT sear it before putting the roast in the crock pot! This recipe does not make a gravy. It kind of looks disgusting. I made my brown gravy rue, cooked down some onions in the rue then added 1/2 water and 1/2 stock from the roast. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2015
I followed the recipe exactly and was so pleased with the results. My husband and I both really loved this! I will never cook a roast any other way. The gravy was out of this world and the roast was so tender it didn't even need to be cut. I can not brag on this recipe enough really, I have tried others from this site and a few others and just hadn't found the one for us, this is it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2015
Add canned or fresh mushrooms, sliced carrots and or peas, sliced red potatoes. you can leave the water out as enough moisture from the meat. I use the healthy low fat version of the soup. You can also place these ingredients wrapped in foil in a 13 x 9 pan and bake at 350 for 3 hours
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeannette Kreiner

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2015
I really like this recipe. It has been a staple for our family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 6,466) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a super simple, tender pot roast in the crock pot.

Slow Cooker Apple Cider Pot Roast

A melt-in-the-mouth pot roast marinated in apple cider and spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States