Awesome Sausage, Apple and Cranberry Stuffing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2013
Everyone LOVED this stuffing. I used sourdough bread and turkey sausage. It is almost a meal in itself, but that didn't stop us! I have never gotten compliments on stuffing before because I made it more for tradition and not because I liked it and it was usually out of a box. This totally worth the extra work...you will not be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2013
The flavor of this recipe is amazing. I followed the recipe, using recommendations from the reviewers. I will be making this again, but next time, I may do a few things different. My biggest issue with it was the consistency...there is so much going on, such as meat, cranberries, bread,etc, that it just kind of crumbled into a not so "stuffing-like" mixture of stuff. I don't want to remove any of the flavors, but next time, I may increase the bread in order to see if I can make it into a more traditional consistency. Secondly, the liver got lost in all of the flavors, so I don't think it is necessary. I will leave it out next time. As reviewers suggested, I tried sourdough bread, which was awesome; I bought the sage sausage, so I decreased the real sage by 1/2tsp, and I added pecans to the mix. Since I didn't have a turkey to stuff, I poured 2 and 3/4cups of turkey stock over the mixture and cooked for 40 min covered at 350 and then an additional 20 min uncovered. I got rave compliments. This is my new go-to recipe for stuffing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by slfortson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montgomery, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2013
Enjoyed very much, except I really didn't follow the recipe other than as a guideline for ingredients. I used roasted garlic (loaf) bread (from Costco) and mini baguettes which I cubed and toasted. Also used spicy Italian sausage, and nixed the liver/giblets. Included apples, cranberries, and some golden raisins because I didn't have enough cranberries. Cooked sausage first, then onions. Added celery to the onions with seasonings (used fresh as many other reviews suggested). After cooking for a while, I added the cranberries, raisins, and sausage back to the onion/celery mix and continued cooking, also added some chicken stock while cooking; added peeled, chopped apples later as I didn't want them to get too soft. When cooked to my liking, I mixed everything in with the bread cubes, adding in more chicken stock...really I just eyeballed it. I made way more than twice what the recipe calls for and I'm not much for measuring so I just went by taste, looks, and consistency. The dried fruit plumped a little with the moisture of the stock; like this a lot. Oh, also, this was made separate from the turkey so was not stuffed in it, but baked on its own. Baked at 350 covered with foil for about 30 min, then removed the foil for another 15-ish minutes. The family loved it and I will be making it again next Thanksgiving. Happy cooking, happy eating!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2013
Fantastic. I got rave reviews from everyone. I had to make do with what I had though, so I substituted extra fresh parsley for the thyme and used potato bread crusts instead of the other bread types. I'm sure it would have tasted even more fantastic if done correctly though
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sam Kamp

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
Another first for me! Came out beautifully, and lots of requests for 2nds. This will be a Thanksgiving dinner staple from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Layne
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
My to stuffing recipe to bake outside the bird. Since I prefer my stuffing baked outside the bird and this one is meant to go "inside the bird", I increase broth to 3 to 3-1/2 cups and toss in 2-3 raw eggs to keep it moist & help bind it together. I swapped out the turkey liver for 1 smoked or baked chicken thigh diced up. Bake the stuffing mixture @ 350 degrees in a large baking dish for 30 minutes covered with foil then remove foil & cook for another 15 min. making top crispy & the bottom moist & de-lish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
My husband found this receipe here several years ago and it's the only dish I ask him to make every year at Thanksgiving- regardless of where we are. It has become the dish I look forward to most. Be aware that everyone loves it, we made 2 batches this year. Oh, I don't think we've ever noticed the step to include a cooked turkey liver.... so that is our one change. Yummy without it. ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
Wasn't sure, as I don't like cranberries, but this was absolutely wonderful!!! I saw that someone made everything except the liquids up the day before, which was great since I wanted to get as much done as I could the day before. Just add stock the next day and throw it in the oven! Got rave reviews from the boyfriend too. =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
This is the best stuffing ever by far. Family is already requesting a huge batch for Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
This is the second year that I have made this stuffing, it's amazing!!! I omit the liver, and I don't cook it in the turkey, I cook it in a 9x13 casserole dish. I add extra turkey or chicken stock to it when I pop it in the oven, and cover it with foil for the first 1/2 of the cooking time. Stir it when I take the foil off, and then it will get slightly browned and crispy on top when it finishes. I also made mine the day before, take it out that morning at let it get to room temp before I bake it so it wouldn't take forever. I just didn't add the broth and butter until it was time to bake it. My biggest suggestion, is to use pork sausage. The first year I used pork sausage and it was more flavorful and moist. This year I decided to go by the recipe and I used the turkey sausage and it wasn't as good. Still a great recipe, but it's SO much better with the pork!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PumpkinPie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atascadero, California, USA
Living In: Visalia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 1,972) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sausage, Apple, and Cranberry Stuffing

This stuffing blends sausage, turkey liver, fruits, and veggies.

Cranberry, Sausage, and Apple Stuffing

Sausage stuffing gets the sweet-tart treatment with green apples and cranberries.

Sausage and Oyster Stuffing

Traditional bread stuffing gets a kick from Creole seasonings, sausage, and oyste

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States