Awesome Sausage, Apple and Cranberry Stuffing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2006
I've been making this recipe for a few years now, and since I started, it's demanded of me at every family get together. Like “Mommy of Four” I keep the dressing outside the turkey, and so compensate with extra broth. Make sure to spray your pan and keep it covered with foil! I’ve found that stirring it after it’s baked for 30 minutes or so, helps it bake more evenly. The only other changes I make are to throw in a little chardonnay for flavor and to add an egg for a little extra hold. I've also found that sage pork sausage is much more flavorful (make sure to drain it after cooking however). I have a habit of not measuring, so more cranberries and herbs always find their way in. And I cannot emphasize the difference FRESH herbs make. Experiment with different kinds of bread as well! Sourdough and potato bread have yielded delicious results. I've had a few flavor variations, but every result was just as tasty as the last. This is my favorite recipe from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1929 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Iowa City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2007
I love this recipe and have made it for a couple of years now. I use cubed day-old Italian Ciabatta bread and omit the giblets (I use the giblets to flavor my basting liquids for my gravy) and it is simply wonderful. I prepare this stuffing one day in advance w/o baking it (although fully cook the sausage, of course). Since I stuff my bird with other things (like onion, garlic, rosemary, lemon and orange), I make this the night before, very lightly grease a casserole dish, drizzle a very small amount of butter (just a bit) on the top to keep it moist and RESERVE ALL THE LIQUIDS UNTIL READY TO BAKE, pop it in the fridge overnight. The next day, add the liquids (broth and melted butter) - I usually add more broth since I will not be baking it in my turkey, it will need more broth (use your judgment depending on how much you are making), bring it to room temperature and then heat it through for about 35-45 minutes, ovens vary, so just make sure it is hot when ready to serve. It's a wonderfully delicious stuffing and the only one I will ever make. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1039 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2002
I've used this several times for Thanksgiving (this is our Thanksgiving Only Stuffing) & everyone LOVES it. Follow this recipe to the T & use fresh herbs (remember to double them) for a really delicious flavoring. **I was just making my Thanksgiving list & thought I'd give some updated suggestions since I've been making this for 6 yrs. now. 1. I always use fresh herbs, the presentation, taste & aroma is wonderful! 2. I've tried different apples & have found that the granny smiths are the best, along with fuji & braeburn. 3. I can't always find turkey sausage links so one year I started using Turkey Kielbasa (I just chopped it up really fine with my food chopper) ~ outstanding! 4. I've made this w/ different types of bread. I really like the sourdough bread personally. I've found that somewhat stale baguettes are MUCH easier to work with, cause you can slice them up pretty easy w/o crust flying everywhere or w/o having to smoosh your sliced bread too much. (I usually cut the bread a few days before to let it get hard.) 5. I never stuff this in the turkey, I usually make it separately in a tray. I continuously check it because the turkey stock has dried out on me once before, which made for a nasty burnt stuffing. And one last thing, this isn't your typical mushy-glop that most people are used to, so if you don't think you'll like a dryer type of stuffing, then I'd suggest using LOTS of stock.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
944 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mommy of Five

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2007
I have to admit, I was very skeptical about this one. It didn't seem as easy as many said and the combo of fruit and meat seemed too intense to paired with turkey. But, I tried it because of rave reviews. I tried it and I add to the praise. I will never make another stuffing again. Even if you don't cook often, this IS NOT HARD! Make sure, as in all recipes, you have all your ingredients ready ahead of time. It's easy and the end product is sooo goood. You'll be the hit of the meal! I took the advice of other reviewers, you should too to maximize this EXCELLENT stuffing!! I'm sure if you followed the original, it would be great, too. 1. I used fresh herbs, double the amount if using fresh. 2. I used a combination of prepared stuffing bread. I liked the combination of cornbread, white, and wheat. I added about a 1 1/2 cups more. 3. I couldn't find the Jimmy Dean's Sage Sausage as others suggested. I will continue to look as I think it will enhance the flavors well. Instead, I used regular flavor Jimmy Dean's pork sausage. DO NOT SKIP THE SAUSAGE (unless you don't eat meat--in that case use a faux meat product and toss in some butter). I thought the sausage might be too much, it was AWESOME in the recipe. It wasn't overwhelming at all! It made the recipe. 4. I substitued craisains for the cranberries. I think I'll try a mixture of golden raisins and dried cranberries. The craisins though. I think I'd like the tartness of the cranberry to play off the sw
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
536 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2009
Awesome! I wanted to use fresh herbs as others suggested, but didn't know how much to use, so I looked it up. 2 1/2 tsp. dried sage = 5 tsp. fresh, 1 1/2 tsp. dried rosemary = 1 1/2 Tbl. fresh, and 1/2 tsp. dried thyme = 1 sprig fresh. Perfect amounts! I reversed the amount of whole wheat cubes and white cubes (i.e., used 1 1/2 cups white and 3 3/4 cups wheat) to make it more hearty & healthy. I used chicken broth instead of turkey stock, and left off the turkey liver (just a personal preference). My butcher made me some turkey sausage by taking ground turkey and adding 'breakfast sausage' spices (loved it!). As others suggested, I added an egg and an extra 1 cup stock - definitely needed both those additions! I baked in 13x9x2 pan COVERED in foil for 40 minutes on 350, then 15 minutes UNCOVERED (instead of stuffing the turkey). Perfect! The next time I made this, I made my own seasoned turkey sausage: 1 pkg ground turkey + 1 tsp. ground sage + 1 tsp. salt + 1/2 tsp. black pepper + 1/8 tsp. marjoram + pinch of cloves - turned out fantastic! Thanks so much for the recipe - this one's a definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
372 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2002
This is a wonderful dressing. I used pork sausage and substituted bought unseasoned cornbread dressing for the bread and used sweetened cranberries (craisins)and left out the liver. I added the same spices and used more turkey stock. It still came out a bit dry so next time I will use even more stock. However, the taste and smell was fantastic. This was my first time making dressing and boy did it turn out wonderful. Instead of stuffing the turkey, I popped it in the oven at 350 for 1 hour and the color was fantastic. Will definately make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
346 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2006
This was my first attempt at homemade stuffing. Wow! Couldn't get any better. Everyone loved it. I did add more chicken stock since I didn't stuff it in the turkey. I put it in the oven on 350 deg. for 40 min then uncovered for 15 mins for perfection. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
278 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2005
I begin to crave this when Fall begins! To make it easier, I use bagged dry cornbread stuffing, boxed or canned chicken stock, and add pecans into the mix. I do not use the liver and it is fantastic! My all-time favorite stuffing recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
242 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jrbaker

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by JasBradley
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2004
I've been making this recipe for a few years now for the holidays - however, I became a vegetarian in January 06 and this will be my 4th holiday season without meat. I've made this recipe now about 8 times using Morning Star breakfast sausage patties and it is fantastic every time! I cooked the "sausage" in butter and chopped them up into pieces. It's an excellent alternative and tastes just as good! I did use extra butter to compensate for the loss of the sausage grease, used vegetable broth and omited the liver. Absolutley Awesome stuffing (even the vegetarian version!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
209 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JasBradley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Living In: Chico, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2002
Fantastic taste, color, and aroma! I made this last year when my parents couldnt hold the traditional Thanksgiving dinner at their home. Having never made a Thanksgiving dinner before, I was rather nervous about trying something new, but I'm glad I did. I used sweetened dried cranberries (Craisins) in the recipe. Dad, the picky eater, had seconds and Mom declared that the Thanksgiving tradition now belonged to me....not bad for a single guy! Thanks All Recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
167 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,972) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sausage, Apple, and Cranberry Stuffing

This stuffing blends sausage, turkey liver, fruits, and veggies.

Cranberry, Sausage, and Apple Stuffing

Sausage stuffing gets the sweet-tart treatment with green apples and cranberries.

Sausage and Oyster Stuffing

Traditional bread stuffing gets a kick from Creole seasonings, sausage, and oyste

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States