Awesome Sausage, Apple and Cranberry Stuffing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
Everyone loved this stuffing. Definitely a do again. Even the younger ones said they loved it. My changes: 1 switched 2 TBL poultry seasoning for the Sage, Rosemary and Thyme 2 switched 1 TBL dry parsley for the fresh parsley 3 instead sourdough bread for white bread 4 cooked it in the slow cooker instead of in the turkey 5 used Granny Smith apples instead of golden delicious. Yummy yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
Except use less sage
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
I've made this as is and it wasn't very good. - I'd give it 2 stars (too much of a bad sausage taste, the liver was just a bad idea to begin with and the apples made it too tart combined with the cranberries) but I thought it had a good thought process behind it. So the next time I made it I used Jimmy Dean sage breakfast sausage, took out the apples and liver, used a little less cranberries, added a small can of drained chopped mushrooms and a bunch of chopped pecans. Maybe I changed it too drastically to actually rate the second version as this version, but the second version I thought was way better - especially with the breakfast sausage. But I've always used recipes more as a guide than as written in stone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dmarr
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
First time trying this recipe, but I ended up kicking it up a notch by using a mixture of green onion sausage and ground pork sausage. All other ingredients were pretty much kept the same! Some ingredients (like the seasonings: onion celery, garlic) were adjusted for personal tastes)! The dressing turned out AWESOME! I was hesitant, at first, adding the apples, despite all the favorable reviews, but I'm glad I did. It's the flavorful combination of the sausage, cranberries, and the apples that will absolutely drive your tastebuds insane, and your guests coming back for more!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
Extremely good stuffing. And so easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
I make this as a side dish. Bake in a 9 X 9 pan. If you want enough to fill a 9 X 13 pan, double the above recipe. When I double it, I do NOT double the sausage or butter, since I find it to be quite meaty/moist without doubling them. I also omit the cranberries entirely just for personal preference. The dressing will survive without the liver as well. I like to make it a day ahead & refrigerate it in a covered baking dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
This was really tasty and everyone enjoyed the recipes. I made a few modifications for time and taste: I used sage turkey sausage (no casing) from Whole Foods. The recipe also calls for turkey liver; they are small and you hardly notice the texture so next time I might use two. I used cornbread and unseasoned white bread crumbs (pre-packaged Petridge Farms for time). I also used chicken stock. It calls for 3/4 cups and I thought this was really dry. Luckily I prepared at least 4 cups, adding to the mix to reach the consistency I prefered. I added fresh ground black pepper and sea salt and almost doubled the sage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2014
This is to die for. Search allrecipes for the Awesome Turkey Giblet Stock recipe. Its the perfect stock to use with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christopher Durkee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kissimmee, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
I have been making this for years now, so it's become a Thanksgiving staple. I use the Jimmy Dean sage sausage. Delicious - always a hit. I don't cook stuffing in the turkey, so I've baked this in a pan (45 mins) and cooked it in a slow cooker (approx. 4-6 hrs). Both ways are good but might require a little extra turkey stock on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
Awesome!! And i don't like stuffing but this i loooveee this!!!!!!! i also use the sage sausage Jim Dean and sourdough bread, I omit the turkey liver and use chicken stock!!! EVERYONE loved it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 2,026) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sausage, Apple, and Cranberry Stuffing

This stuffing blends sausage, turkey liver, fruits, and veggies.

Cranberry, Sausage, and Apple Stuffing

Sausage stuffing gets the sweet-tart treatment with green apples and cranberries.

Sausage and Oyster Stuffing

Traditional bread stuffing gets a kick from Creole seasonings, sausage, and oyste

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States