Awesome Sausage, Apple and Cranberry Stuffing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
Results: -Great depth and balance of flavor -crowd pleaser Alterations: -cornbread instead of white bread -spicy italian turkey sausage instead of regular turkey sausage -I mixed in an egg and then baked it in the oven for 15 minutes at 350F for a golden crust and the consistency that my family prefers (we like stuffing that's not too dry or too loose). I always cook Thanksgiving dinner for my family, and stuffing is such a big part of the special dinner. I settled on this one after the rave reviews and we were not disappointed! My siblings agreed that this was the best stuffing we've ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
Amazingly delicious I received lots of comments on the stuffing I made for dinner. I used regular sausage because I could not find the one recommended but it still turned out amazing. Can't go wrong with this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
Third year making it and it is a hit every time. Have had people admit that they take dressing more as an obligation at the Thanksgiving table, but come back for seconds and third after trying this stuff. Love the cranberries and apples in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
Used fresh cranberries and extra apple! Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Ma Belle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sandwich, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Plymouth, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
Great recipe made as is, or good for tweaking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
I don't like stuffing, my spouse does; however. This was excellent. I used the sage sausage as suggested. I forgot about the turkey liver, still was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
I made this recipe for thanksgiving. I wondered about whether or not I should make the stuffing the night before. I ended up doing just that. However, I saw a review of someone who said to make the stuffing the night before but to save some butter and a LOT of turkey stock the for the next day. I did that, and it turned out fabulous! (Note: I did not stuff our turkey with our stuffing). I was worried though that it would turn out dry, due to all the bread, but about two hours before serving, I added the stock and butter and stirred it occasionally,(in the oven) covered with foil and (like I said ) it was great! We barely had any leftovers!! A must have for Thanksgiving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2013
omg I definatly will be making this again for christmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2013
Everyone LOVED this stuffing. I used sourdough bread and turkey sausage. It is almost a meal in itself, but that didn't stop us! I have never gotten compliments on stuffing before because I made it more for tradition and not because I liked it and it was usually out of a box. This totally worth the extra work...you will not be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2013
The flavor of this recipe is amazing. I followed the recipe, using recommendations from the reviewers. I will be making this again, but next time, I may do a few things different. My biggest issue with it was the consistency...there is so much going on, such as meat, cranberries, bread,etc, that it just kind of crumbled into a not so "stuffing-like" mixture of stuff. I don't want to remove any of the flavors, but next time, I may increase the bread in order to see if I can make it into a more traditional consistency. Secondly, the liver got lost in all of the flavors, so I don't think it is necessary. I will leave it out next time. As reviewers suggested, I tried sourdough bread, which was awesome; I bought the sage sausage, so I decreased the real sage by 1/2tsp, and I added pecans to the mix. Since I didn't have a turkey to stuff, I poured 2 and 3/4cups of turkey stock over the mixture and cooked for 40 min covered at 350 and then an additional 20 min uncovered. I got rave compliments. This is my new go-to recipe for stuffing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by slfortson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montgomery, Alabama, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 2,011) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sausage, Apple, and Cranberry Stuffing

This stuffing blends sausage, turkey liver, fruits, and veggies.

Cranberry, Sausage, and Apple Stuffing

Sausage stuffing gets the sweet-tart treatment with green apples and cranberries.

Sausage and Oyster Stuffing

Traditional bread stuffing gets a kick from Creole seasonings, sausage, and oyste

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States