Awesome Roast Beef Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2015
My husband and I really enjoyed this with a few minor additions. I added potatoes to the bottom of the crock pot, then seasoned the meat with a garlic steak seasoning blend and set it on top. I mixed the mushroom soup and beef broth then poured them over the meat and potatoes. I also added some freshly ground pepper when the roast was finished cooking. It makes a nice gravy with plenty for the meat and potatoes and to dip some crusty bread in too. This will be in regular rotation at our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2015
Loved the recipe and did as suggested: 2 can mushroom soup (low sodium), 1cam beef broth, 2 packages dry onion soup mix and here is my addition - 1 package Good Seasons Italian dressing mix- Sounds weird but is excellent. Does not taste "Italian". Just adds another layer of flavour... Oh, and mushrooms and a splash of dry sherry when reducing the liquid
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2015
Very overcooked after just 7 hours and very lacking in salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2015
I made this (as written) yesterday and, although it was easy and good, I thought it was bland. I'll definitely make it again but I'll spice it up a bit next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2015
I followed others using onion soup mix along with beef broth and cream of mushroom. I also thickened the gravy at the end with cornstarch slurry. Has to skim quite a bit of fat off first. I will try this again with a cheaper cut of roast as I think the nice rump roast I used was better than needed for this method
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2015
I wouldn't call this awesome taste wise. Real easy to make but tastes ok only.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
I follow the recipe which it is idiot proof but the roast came out tough and tasteless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Louis Panella

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2014
Great recipe. I was surprised that it did not mention to sear the meat before placing it into a slow cooker or the oven though!?!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kathleen Breitfeld
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2014
This was pretty awesome. Now I did read comments as I always do. I did coat my hunk of beef with Montreal seasoning and pan seared it. put baby carrots and onions on bottom and threw beef in crock pot. Used 2 cans soup 15 oz beef broth 1 pkg onion soup mixed together 1st and it took 11 hrs but it was super yummy this was a super tough piece of meat and it just melted and tastes good over time threw in some frozen peas and served over egg noodles. . Yum! I know people get upset when we rate a recipe but alter it also. If I do change things I will take a point off. I personally search for recipes by rating and quantity of rates.i do search through comments cause hey trial and error is always good. That being said I'm rating this a 5 anyway alterations were not grand and it's good it should show up with high ratings and good comments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathleen Breitfeld

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
I used a 4lb rump roast. I cut a slit in the bottom and inserted a small clove of garlic. Then I dumped out 1 packet of onion soup mix on a cutting board and rolled the roast around in the powder (then put in crock pot). In a bowl, I mixed 2 cans of cream of mushroom soup, 2 cans of beef broth, and another packet of soup onion mix. Stirred/mixed really well, then I poured it over the roast. I let the roast cook on low for about 6 and 1/2 hours, then I added cut up red potatoes to let them cook for the next 1 and 1/2 hours. Turns out perfect! Served over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AlexyC
Home Town: Lake Charles, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 539) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Roast Beef

See how to make a tasty pot roast with just five ingredients.

Slow Cooker Beef Pot Roast

Come home to a delicious slow-cooked pot roast dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States