Awesome Roast Beef Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2006
I've used this recipe for more than a year now, and my husband suggested that I write this review. I read many of the previous reviews and came up with additional suggestions. I add potatoes, carrots and onions. To give this recipe more spice, I rinse off the roast and sprinkle McCormick's Montreal Steak Seasoning on all sides of the roast before putting it into the slow cooker. I mix together 1/2 of the can of mushroom soup, 1/2 of the dry onion soup mix and 1 cup water. I pour this mixture over everything and sprinkle the rest of the onion soup mix on top of the roast. I put several slices of the onion on top of the roast also. I have used this recipe many, many times and it comes out perfect every time! My husband loves it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1163 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2002
THIS WAS AWSOME!!! I took a reviewers advice and doubled the receipe and added 2 packages of onion soup mix and I didn't have beef broth so I used 3 bullion cubes in 2 cups of hot water I couldn't believe how incredible this tasted. I don't even like cream of mushroom soup so I was scared at first but this was awsome and it made PLENTY of gravy to pour over our mashed potatoes and the roast. We all loved it and it is now going to be a regular meal at our house! I've been looking for over 5 yrs now for a great crock pot receipe for roasts and now I found it! ***UPDATE... I now make this all the time and I don't even use the mushroom soup anymore... One bag of onion soup, 2 bullion cubes and 1 cup of water w/ any roast you buy in the crock pot for 6 hr on high. I even strain the broth for the onions and make a gravy out of it to go over the roast and mashed potatoes. It's WONDERFUL both ways!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
552 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by giggletush

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2003
I will preface this by saying I couldn't cook a roast in the oven if my life depended on it :) BUT, my husband loves roast, so I got a crock pot for Christmas! I used two cans of mushroom soup, and one can of beef broth. I rubbed the roast with onion salt (he HATES onions, otherwise, he's perfect), then poked holes in it and inserted whole cloves of garlic. I added carrots and cabbage (I usually do the potatoes separately). I used about a 5 # roast, so it took 10 hours on low...and....well...it was AWESOME...fell APART in the pan...it was the most delicious thing I've ever tasted! Thanks for all the helpful hints..I'm off to slaughter a cow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
332 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2006
Just okay. What the recipes doesn't say is you should mix the broth and soup in a separate bowl and then pour over the beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
148 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2002
My husband and I loved this! My actual cook time was about 11 hours because I got home late-this roast was so tender, it was falling off the fork as I tried to take it out of the crockpot! This recipe is a definite keeper and great for the working woman.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
108 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2003
I have never been able to cook a roast that my family has called "excellent", but this recipe was a huge success! I sprinkled an envelope of onion soup mix on top of the roast, but followed the rest of the recipe, adding potatoes and carrots at the bottom of the crock pot. I cooked for 4 hours on high and everything was great. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Leawood, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2003
This is definitely an easy option for those busy days! Per other reviews, I added a pkg of onion soup mix, canned mushrooms, carrots & celery. I seasoned the roast & browned it quickly in a skillet before putting it in the crock pot. I also added a chopped clove of garlic, 1 bay leaf, 1/2 tsp each of thyme, parsley, & peppercorns. So delicious & easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2006
This is so easy and delicious! It's so nice to come home from work and smell dinner cooking! I added a Lipton Onion Soup Mix, as well as red potatoes, onion, carrots and mushrooms. Made an excellent gravy. Great comfort food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FlaMommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Naples, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2001
The usual taste of crock pot roast beef. I added an envelope of onion soup mix, some vegetables and some barley to perk it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2002
I also doubled the mushroom soup (I used the 99% fat free) and used vegetable broth and onion soup mix. There were no leftovers! Adrienne - NJ
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 530) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Beef Pot Roast

Come home to a delicious slow-cooked pot roast dinner.

Simple Beef Pot Roast

See how to make the world’s easiest pot roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States