Awesome Roast Beef Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2012
First time I made it, I deviated more from the original recipe. I did the onion soup packet thing. I did the can of mushrooms thing. I used golden mushroom soup instead of the cream of mushroom (that's what I had on hand). Then added the veggies. People really liked it, but didn't go crazy over it. Second time around, I seemed to stick more to the recipe. Seasoned with Montreal Steak Seasoning, garlic salt, and pepper. Threw in two cans of cream of mushroom soup and half a box of beef broth. Added carrots and onions. A couple hours later added potatoes. A half hour before serving, I measured out a 1/2 cup of the gravy broth and whisked in a couple tbsp. of flour, then stirred that back into the crock pot. THIS TIME, my husband went nuts. He had three servings. He looked at me with sheer joy and worship in his eyes. Isn't that what every spouse wants? And it wasn't even hard to make!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
easy & yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
my brother in law the chef couldn't stop complimenting my roast! wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FIREBRAND95

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
This is very good, seared first but not sure that was necessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
I make this all the time. I have taken the advice of other reviewers and mix in a packet of dry onion soup mix with the cream of mushroom before pouring over the beef. Sometimes I don't even add the beef broth (like if I am out). It's always good and easy to modify. If I cook with vegetables, I put the potatoes and carrots on the bottom so that the flavor from the beef drips down over them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
I've made this recipe twice now. The first time used a rump roast, which turned out a little dry, and added veggies and 1/2 cup red wine. Good flavour but too much like my "usual" pot roast recipe. Second attempt gave such a great roast hubby and I both loved it, and can't wait to make again! This was so tender and delicious that we both wished I had used a larger roast. Here is what I did: Used 2 1/2 lb boneless inside blade roast, 1 can low-sodium Cream of Mushroom Soup, 1 can Golden Mushroom Soup, 1 cup low-sodium Beef Broth, 2 tsp garlic powder, 1 tbsp onion soup mix, 1/2 Lb sliced mushrooms. Mixed soups, broth, garlic powder and onion soup mix in crockpot, whisking until smooth. Added roast, spooning some of liquid over roast. Cooked on low for 9 1/2 hours, turning roast and adding mushrooms halfway through cooking time. Based on my 2nd attempt, I would give this 5 stars, and will definitely make again and again, using a 3-4 lb boneless blade roast. Wonderful! Great base recipe. Thanks so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Pickering, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
Could not be easier! Seriously, this was the best roast I ever had. I added a little bit of corn starch to thicken the gravy while in the crockpot......other than that it's a winner. Serve with rustic mashed potatoes and biscuits and you will have the most amazing comfort food meal of the year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Missy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Conestoga, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pequea, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
Makes a great gravy! Easy, easy, recipe. Although I did add more water than what was required.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
I don't know if I did something wrong or what but followed directions exactly, added carrots, potatoes and two cloves of garlic and this was really bland. Very tender and with heaps of salt and pepper was passable but still really bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
Really good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 532) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Roast Beef

See how to make a tasty pot roast with just five ingredients.

Slow Cooker Beef Pot Roast

Come home to a delicious slow-cooked pot roast dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States