Awesome Roast Beef Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2015
Very overcooked after just 7 hours and very lacking in salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2015
I made this (as written) yesterday and, although it was easy and good, I thought it was bland. I'll definitely make it again but I'll spice it up a bit next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2015
I followed others using onion soup mix along with beef broth and cream of mushroom. I also thickened the gravy at the end with cornstarch slurry. Has to skim quite a bit of fat off first. I will try this again with a cheaper cut of roast as I think the nice rump roast I used was better than needed for this method
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2015
I wouldn't call this awesome taste wise. Real easy to make but tastes ok only.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
I follow the recipe which it is idiot proof but the roast came out tough and tasteless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Louis Panella

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2014
Great recipe. I was surprised that it did not mention to sear the meat before placing it into a slow cooker or the oven though!?!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kathleen Breitfeld
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2014
This was pretty awesome. Now I did read comments as I always do. I did coat my hunk of beef with Montreal seasoning and pan seared it. put baby carrots and onions on bottom and threw beef in crock pot. Used 2 cans soup 15 oz beef broth 1 pkg onion soup mixed together 1st and it took 11 hrs but it was super yummy this was a super tough piece of meat and it just melted and tastes good over time threw in some frozen peas and served over egg noodles. . Yum! I know people get upset when we rate a recipe but alter it also. If I do change things I will take a point off. I personally search for recipes by rating and quantity of rates.i do search through comments cause hey trial and error is always good. That being said I'm rating this a 5 anyway alterations were not grand and it's good it should show up with high ratings and good comments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathleen Breitfeld

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
I used a 4lb rump roast. I cut a slit in the bottom and inserted a small clove of garlic. Then I dumped out 1 packet of onion soup mix on a cutting board and rolled the roast around in the powder (then put in crock pot). In a bowl, I mixed 2 cans of cream of mushroom soup, 2 cans of beef broth, and another packet of soup onion mix. Stirred/mixed really well, then I poured it over the roast. I let the roast cook on low for about 6 and 1/2 hours, then I added cut up red potatoes to let them cook for the next 1 and 1/2 hours. Turns out perfect! Served over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AlexyC
Home Town: Lake Charles, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
I liked the idea to add dry onion soup mix. Included veggies on the bottom also. I tried cooking for 6 hrs but it really needed the full 8 hr in the crockpot. Using any leftovers in a sandwich makes it a 2 meal effort. After having the sliced roast beef, I added a can of golden mushroom soup plus sliced onions, peppers and more mushrooms to the extra meat in slow cooker. We'll eat it another night served on rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Butler, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2014
Great taste. Super easy! Definitely will make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 537) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Roast Beef

See how to make a tasty pot roast with just five ingredients.

Slow Cooker Beef Pot Roast

Come home to a delicious slow-cooked pot roast dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States