Awesome Rice Pilaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
Yes, this WAS awesome! Hubs and I both loved it! It's colorful, flavorful, and interestingly different from most rice side dishes. I did add the optional saffron and really would recommend not omitting it. It adds a unique and appealing flavor as well as a rich and beautiful color. I used both frozen corn and frozen peas, adding both, straight from the freezer, at the end - no need to cook them with the rice! This, along with Swiss Chard Sautéed with Lime, was an ideal side dish for Spanish Style Albondigas in a Sunny Mediterranean Sauce, both recipes from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
In all fairness, I am the writer of this recipe. It's been quite a few years since I originally wrote this recipe and have made some changes I thought I'd share. I agree with Naples review about using the frozen peas and corn and adding them at the end. This adds a nice additional texture to the dish. The reason I wrote the saffron as optional is because it is pricey and not a typical household staple. I do agree that it is worth using if you can, it does add a rich warmth and beautiful color to the dish. It's best to steep it first in warm broth. This recipe really lends itself well to adaptation because of the simplicity of its ingredients. Adding turmeric, chili powder, curry, ginger, jalapeno etc. Could transform this to your perfect side. Have fun with it! The leftovers are a wonderful lunch the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2013
I made this with a couple of omissions; I didn't have the red pepper on hand and not sure it needed it. I also left out the corn and celery since I was looking for a traditional, simple recipe. It turned out great and we absolutely loved it. No more rice pilaf from a box for us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by extraears

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hollywood, California, USA
Living In: Springfield, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2013
Loved it but added chicken, tumeric, and ginger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Captain Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2014
I make this once a month just to change up the rice. It turns out perfect everytime, and the flavour is awesome!. I use basmatti rice, because that is usually what i have at home, and just use carrots and peas, or whatever veggie i have hanging around. the kids eat it up everytime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley Redmond

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
I was a bit disappointed.... It smelled and looked great, but the taste was just so-so. Also a bit too mushy. I think if I made it again, I'd eliminate the canned peas. But all in all, it was okay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pelicangal
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
This was very nice. I did not have any corn so had to leave it out. Served it with Tonkatsu and Tonkatsu sauce both from AR. Good dinner. I think that next time that I make this I will add some chiles or jalapenos. I think that this would notch up the flavor a little. Thanks so much for posting the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pelicangal

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brookings, Oregon, USA
Photo by Jennifer
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2014
I liked this and it was a side dish to Shoyu chicken from this site. Didn't have peas but subbed with haricot verts. Used vegetable broth instead of chicken broth to keep it vegetarian.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Urbana, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2014
Yes this is absolutely awesome!!! My husband even ate this AND LIKED IT ALOT!! I didn't have the peas, but it seemed to be great without them. I used EV olive oil instead of butter to make it even healthier. I highly recommend it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
Ehhh...this was okay, nothing great. Subbed brown rice, cut lemon pepper In half & forgot peas...very forgettable & won' be making again. This is one of those side dishes you have to remake into something else, as it is not interesting enough to eat again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ReeRee's Kitchen

Cooking Level: Intermediate



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Rice Pilaf

Never make sticky, mushy rice again!

Sarah's Rice Pilaf

Orzo pasta and rice are cooked with butter, onion, garlic, and broth.

Persian Rice

See how to make an actual foolproof method for cooking perfect rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States