Awesome Red Wine Pot Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2015
Very easy and the family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by James McClinton
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2015
Exceptionally deliciouos! I used broth instead of water. Great flavor and moist. Sunday meal-easy to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by James McClinton

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2015
I used 1/2 bottle of wine and not used pearl onion, but rather tiny fresh ones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2015
I used a few sticks of celery cherry tomatoes button mushrooms fresh rosemary and a bayleaf any old hunks of beef will do along with baby potatoes and a few pieces lightly crushed garlic but the key is good robust red wine Merlo works well for me. Outstanding
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2015
Wow, that's all! We added mushrooms and skipped the marjoram since we were out. My husband loved this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2015
Pretty average pot roast recipe. Not bad by any means, but not particularly better than any other pot roast recipe I've tried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina Bradley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2015
KEEPER! Tried this for my first pot roast and I'm not sure there's much room for improvement.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RetiredGuyCooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jackson, Michigan, USA
Living In: South Lebanon, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Gina
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2015
this was very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gina

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2015
I got a bigger roast so I adjusted the servings. I probably should have had the heat on a higher temp when I seared it to get that dark brown crust. I rubbed it in flour to coat but not too much. I did make sure I got all sides when searing it and seared it a little longer on each side since my roast was bigger, almost 6 lbs. I added cabbage and used the baby carrots but added those with an hour left. I just used water and red wine but next time I will do beef/chicken broth. I checked it after 3 hours to check on the liquid and it was fine. I could have spooned liquid over it but wanted to see how it was without. Next time, I think I will try that. I did use an iron dutch oven with a lid, this kept it from drying out. Came out perfect. Has great taste and was very easy to do. Doesn't get much easier than this. Even if you aren't a good cook, think you can make this meal and impress anyone. Lots of leftovers and taking some to the in-laws tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2015
I always add broth instead of water if available,or add beef cubes/paste. for better flavoring. The more intense the flavors the better in most cases. After it's fully cooked I remove all veg./meat from pan. I used corn starch to thicken the sauce in the pan then put the meat/veg back in. It coats every thing better.... much better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Marie's Easy Slow Cooker Pot Roast

Make a top-rated pot roast that’s quick and easy.

Slow Cooker Red Curry Beef Pot Roast

See how to make a red curry pot roast in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States