Awesome Red Pepper Hummus Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 5, 2008
Really good. Although I'm not sure I understand why there are so many hummus recipes on this site when they're all basically the same. In any event, roasted red peppers is my favorite type of hummus. I couldn't find the tahini so I ground up sesame seeds in my spice mill... and trust me... I looked ALL over my local grocery store looking for tahini to no avail. Of course, this afternoon I found it... in the peanut butter aisle... DUH! Anyway, the recipe turned out great... tasted EXACTLY like the container I pay $6 for at the store. Oh, and I took a reviewers advice and while rinsing the beans, I rubbed them together in my hands and the skins came right off. Skimmed them right off the top of the water before tossing them in the food processor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
126 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
The best Hummus dip I have ever had! Although, I did add 1/2 teaspoon each of ground cayenne pepper and ground cumin. I served the dip with wheat pita bread wedges. There were no leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
This is great hummus, only changes I made were to use 1 tsp of garlic salt in place of individual garlic and salt and I needed to add a little bit of olive oil to get it blending up to the right consistency because I forgot to save the reserved liquid. I agree with another reviewer that there are way too many of basically the same red pepper recipes on here! This is the most simple and you can always add any the typical seasonings (cumin, cayenne, more garlic) if you like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZELDA3333

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kelleys Island, Ohio, USA
Living In: Grand Island, New York, USA
Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2008
This is good and easy. Used roasted garlic instead of minced, so I tossed in a lot more. I, too, used homemade tahini that I had made before. Good to use it up--I don't really like tahini much at all. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
Absolutely delicious! And more nutritious than store-bought. This was posted at our gym, as a matter of fact, and it's a great recharge. A great change from ho-hum ranch and carrots. It tastes even better after refrigerating overnight. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
Would love to say I didn't change a thing but...the raw garlic is too overwhelming. I roasted my own, along with my own red peppers and, with the addition of some fresh-ground black pepper, this was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GoodFun-GlutenFree

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Torrington, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Ballston Spa, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2010
Really delicious. I added a few teaspoons of cayenne pepper, and I think next time I might switch up the lemon juice with half a lemon and a lime, as well as adding cilantro as a garnish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2011
I have made this recipe several times and I always get rave reviews. However,in all fairness, I had to rate it a 4 star, as I made ALOT of modifications. I love garlic and spice, so increased that and cut back on the Lemon amount by half and included the lemon Zest. Just personal taste, but this is a wonderful 'Base' Recipe for making a delic hummus of your own. Don't buy the store stuff :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate56

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Holland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Canaan Valley, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2011
I just made two batches of hummus using this recipe. This is a very good basic recipe that can easily be modified according to your mood or what ingredients you have on hand. I omitted the salt because the peppers I used already had it added. And I added more garlic because I LOVE garlic. Tahini can be expensive and not easily found but peanut butter will work as a good substitute. I used some spicy peanut butter and it just made flavor that much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2010
I can't believe how easy it was to make, delicious, nutricious it was a hit in our house. I will never again buy hummus in the supermarket. Sharing this recipe with friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lydia

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Red Pepper Hummus

See how to make quick-and-easy hummus with red bell peppers.

Spiced Sweet Roasted Red Pepper Hummus

A creamy hummus with a little cayenne kick.

Greek Salad and Hummus

Two classic Greek recipes come together for an easy appetizer or main dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States