Awesome Red Pepper Hummus Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
amazing taste, and easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2010
Fantastic!!! The only change I made was some cayenne pepper, since we like extra heat in everything we eat! I will be making my own hummus from now on! Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2011
I just made two batches of hummus using this recipe. This is a very good basic recipe that can easily be modified according to your mood or what ingredients you have on hand. I omitted the salt because the peppers I used already had it added. And I added more garlic because I LOVE garlic. Tahini can be expensive and not easily found but peanut butter will work as a good substitute. I used some spicy peanut butter and it just made flavor that much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
This is AMAZING! My husband recently developed a taste for hummus, but he'd never tried red pepper hummus. I made this last night and got rave reviews from him! Definitely a keeper, and SO quick to make in the blender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bluegrassgirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2009
This is a great recipe. I made it just as written and it was delicious...I would not change a thing! Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2008
Really good. Although I'm not sure I understand why there are so many hummus recipes on this site when they're all basically the same. In any event, roasted red peppers is my favorite type of hummus. I couldn't find the tahini so I ground up sesame seeds in my spice mill... and trust me... I looked ALL over my local grocery store looking for tahini to no avail. Of course, this afternoon I found it... in the peanut butter aisle... DUH! Anyway, the recipe turned out great... tasted EXACTLY like the container I pay $6 for at the store. Oh, and I took a reviewers advice and while rinsing the beans, I rubbed them together in my hands and the skins came right off. Skimmed them right off the top of the water before tossing them in the food processor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
125 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
The best Hummus dip I have ever had! Although, I did add 1/2 teaspoon each of ground cayenne pepper and ground cumin. I served the dip with wheat pita bread wedges. There were no leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
This is great hummus, only changes I made were to use 1 tsp of garlic salt in place of individual garlic and salt and I needed to add a little bit of olive oil to get it blending up to the right consistency because I forgot to save the reserved liquid. I agree with another reviewer that there are way too many of basically the same red pepper recipes on here! This is the most simple and you can always add any the typical seasonings (cumin, cayenne, more garlic) if you like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZELDA3333

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kelleys Island, Ohio, USA
Living In: Grand Island, New York, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2010
I can't believe how easy it was to make, delicious, nutricious it was a hit in our house. I will never again buy hummus in the supermarket. Sharing this recipe with friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lydia

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
Would love to say I didn't change a thing but...the raw garlic is too overwhelming. I roasted my own, along with my own red peppers and, with the addition of some fresh-ground black pepper, this was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GoodFun-GlutenFree

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Torrington, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Ballston Spa, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Red Pepper Hummus

See how to make quick-and-easy hummus with red bell peppers.

Spiced Sweet Roasted Red Pepper Hummus

A creamy hummus with a little cayenne kick.

Greek Salad and Hummus

Two classic Greek recipes come together for an easy appetizer or main dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States