Awesome Pasta Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2003
I make this all the time & we LOVE it (especially my father-in-law)! I use tri color rotini, grape tomatoes, pepperonchinis instead of the green peppers, and some chunked red onion. I also use a whole 16 oz. bottle Wishbone "Robust Italian Dressing". I learned that if you "dry" (like pat them with a clean dish or paper towels to get the water off) the noodles, the dressing will really stick a lot better. Pour 1/2 the dressing on right away, refridgerate, and pour the other 1/2 on before serving prevents it from drying out (the noodle will soak up the dressing). Delicious, it goes great with Italian beef. Thanks Desiree!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
326 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2003
For as easy and versatile as this one is, it deserves 5 stars! I made this for a bridal shower and it went over as a huge hit! I did omit the olives and used a little less tomatoes BUT I then added some chopped zucchini. Also, I sprinkled in just a little parmesan cheese and added a little white sugar...believe it or not, the touch of white sugar takes the edge off the Italian dressing without making it sweet. I had people who came up to me at the shower and told me that they don't normally like these types of salads but LOVED the way this was made. They couldn't believe that the secret ingrediant was the dash or two of sugar! A great summer pasta salad! Thanks Desiree!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
245 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2005
This is a great pasta salad because it has things that just about everyone likes. I added zucchini, a red bell pepper, and some fresh mozarella, and i only used a small can of sliced black olives. I put about 8 oz of Italian dressing on the night before [Newman's family-style italian, our favorite] then another 8oz right before serving. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
179 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2003
I am so picky when it comes to pasta salad! This is Awesome!! I followed the advice of MC_MA_OF_3 and dried the pasta on a clean dish towel. I also substituted the green peppers for pepperonchinis. I added red onion and sprinkled with parmesean cheese! Yummy!! My husband absolutely loves it. He ate 2 huge bowls last night and took another huge bowl to work with him today. Thanks so much Desiree for sharing your AWESOME Pasta Salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
107 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VICBEN
Home Town: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: May 1, 2006
this was a big hit with everyone. Based on previous recommendations I used robust italian dressing. I skipped the salami, but added about 1/2 cup of grated Parmesan and a half a red onion (finely diced) which I think added some depth of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GROOVBUNNY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Cruz, California, USA
Reviewed: May 22, 2006
Wow! Everyone loved this. Followed other reviewers suggestions...added zucchini. Omitted olives and pimentos. Used small vine ripened tomatoes cut in half. Wishbone Robust was discontinued so just used my personal favorite locally made Italian dressing. Also...when it says 16 servings it means 16 servings. This recipe made a huge bowl, and it is also very pretty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sunset Hills, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2007
This a favorite summertime recipe that I love to take to picnics! I omit the pimentos, and I add black olives, pepperoncini peppers, and a combination of fresh mozzarella and provolone cheeses. I use Ken's Steak House light Northern Italian dressing, it's wonderful in this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Chef Esh

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2003
I served this at a large family gathering, and got rave reviews! I added broccoli, and subsituted most of provolone with mozzarella and cheddar cheese just because of personal preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2003
Great salad. Did leave out the pimentos and added some chopped red onion. Used about twice as much dressing, having poured some the night before and then again before serving. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
This Pasta Salad recipe is so very easy to adapt to personal taste and a great recipe to start with. I never measure amounts when making this salad yet it comes out great every time. To me, the pasta is not the star of a pasta salad but a supporting player to all the rest of the ingredients. I know many people like to use the tri-color pasta but not me. When it cooks the colors wash out and the pale pasta colors really distract from the beauty of the colorful vegetables and other ingredients. I use quite a few regular tomatoes cut in half (seeds removed) and then cut in little wedges. I use quite a bit of quartered and sliced English (seedless) cucumber (patted dry on paper towel). I do use green pepper in small one inch slices. Definitely add some finely chopped red onion for flavor and a lovely color addition. I don't add olives because I don't like them. I don't add pimento. You can change up the cheese. Last time I used a "Cheddar-Jack" cheese and it was great. I do use the salami and I use turkey pepperoni (so much better and less greasy than regular). My one and only "MUST" when making this salad is NOT to use a bottled Italian dressing. The national brand that you make yourself is 10 thousand times superior to the bottled stuff. Try it next time and I think you'll agree. Whether you make Irlandes recipe as written, or change it up to suit your own taste, you'll end up with a wonderful salad sure to please your guests. Thank ou so much Irlandes for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Walworth, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 256) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Awesome Pasta Salad

Watch how to make a pasta salad filled with lots of good stuff.

Easy Cold Pasta Salad

Watch how easy it is to make this pasta salad with fresh tomatoes and cucumbers.

Antipasto Pasta Salad

This salad combines meat, cheese, veggies, and pasta into a picnic delight.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States