Awesome Pasta Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
I always have to chuckle when people ask me for my "recipe" for pasta salad... I always thought it was a fool proof side but maybe not for everyone. Anyways, I've been making this, or a doctored up version of this since I can remember, and before me- my mom did as well. Just a few differences.... I can't stand raw peppers so I use jarred roasted red peppers instead. I do add pepperoni but not salami. I add both green and black olives, cucumbers (sliced and quartered), broccoli, sliced carrots, celery, grape tomatoes, and my cheese of choice is cubed muenster. I also make sure to use a zesty Italian dressing but the amount I use is probably different with each batch- eyeball and taste it. The pasta will suck up the dressing like you wouldn't believe, so if I remember, sometimes I chill the pasta overnight in the fridge after I cook it and it seems to help. Either way, I almost always have to add a little more dressing on the 2nd day and give it a toss to revive the flavor. I get asked to make it at almost every picnic, which is flattering but , all that chopping does get tiresome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
This was a huge hit. Followed the recipe exactly used the Wishbone Robust Italian dressing based on comments. Loved it and will make this a summer favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Burlington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
At first I was like "Who in the world needs a recipe for pasta salad. It's just noodles, random veggies, some cheese and dressing." But after trying many times and failing to get pasta salad right I decided I wanted to try a recipe for my daughter's birthday and I'm glad I did. As far as pasta salads go, this was awesome. I really enjoyed it as did everyone at my daughter's birthday BBQ. It's so simple yet so good. This will be my new go-to for potluck BBQ's!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
Loved this salad. Great flavors, light and refreshing on a hot summer day. Everyone at the picnic kept asking for the recipe. I've made it twice now following the recipe exactly the first time and the second time changed it up a bit using fat free zesty Italian dressing, green olives and didn't put the pepperoni in it since I didn't have it on hand at the time and Havarti cheese instead of provolone. Such an easy recipes to change it up a bit. New summer pasta salad favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elaine

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2014
Awesome is right! What a fantastic salad!!! I made this for our Father's Day cookout with my in-laws / bro-in-laws and everyone RAVED and helped themselves to seconds!!! Since I was feeding mostly men (my MIL and I were the only females in the bunch), I wanted something hearty to serve alongside our grilled sausages and brats. Because I was feeding a small crowd, I halved this. I knew I hit the jackpot when my father-in-law asked that I make this the "go-to" salad for every get-together from now on! My pasta salad hating hubby likened this to an Italian sub and I have to agree. Having said this, I do think my personal changes made this extra tasty. Since I am not a fan of olives, I replaced them with thinly sliced (partially seeded) peperoncini peppers, about 1/2 of a 16 oz. jar's worth. I also added about 1/2 of a finely diced red onion and 1/4 c. of fresh grated Parm cheese. I used Olive Garden's signature Italian dressing (the full 8 oz. called for - half right after I tossed everything together and the other half right before serving) and really enjoyed it in this. All I can say is WOW! Totally worthy of any summer BBQ and 100% man approved. Thanks for sharing, Irlandes! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
I have made this recipe a thousand times over the decades. This is the best basic recipe. Tweek it to suit you and your family. Tri-color Rotini is what I use. Plus use the McCormack salad supreme seasoning in addition to zesty Italian dressing. Use this basic recipe and add what strikes your fancy that day. Banana Peppers, cucumber, green olives, some in my family like broccoli (yuck). This is a summertime staple. Every young chef out there age 10 plus should learn this basic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by French317

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manlius, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2014
VERY good! Will be making again. I used Robust Italian as suggested by reviewers. Eight ounces of dressing was enough for us. I used mozzarella, cherry tomatoes, black olives, green pepper, and pepperoni. That was enough to make this perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2014
Excellent - easy to make and loved by everyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2014
This turned out great! Brought it to a family get together and got lots of compliments on it. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2014
This really should be made at least 8 hours prior to serving so the flavors can meld. It needs a little onion and a very flavorful Italian dressing. If it is dry when serving, add a little more dressing. I have also made it with shredded Parmesan. (not the kind in the green can, but the refrigerated kind) We liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 249) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Awesome Pasta Salad

Watch how to make a pasta salad filled with lots of good stuff.

Antipasto Pasta Salad

This salad combines meat, cheese, veggies, and pasta into a picnic delight.

Garden Pasta Salad

Watch how to make a spiral pasta salad with garden fresh veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States