Awesome Korean Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2008
This was just okay for us. My family liked it but not enough for me to make it again. I followed the recipe as written. It just seemed to be lacking something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DianaandLarry Blevins

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fullerton, California, USA
Living In: Cypress, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2008
This is a good basic recipe to make Bulgogi which is the Korean name for this dish. But I made a few changes to make this recipe authentic. 1. instead of using shallots I used spring onions 2. I used half brown sugar and half white 3. I also added 1 tsp crushed ginger which is a key ingredient for this dish, I'm surprised it's not listed. 4. Instead of using mirin which is Japanese, I used Korean cooking wine, attention: rice wine vinegar is NOT a substitute!!!! You can however use mirin if that is the only thing you can find. 5. to soften the meat, add shredded Korean pear to the marinade, if you can't find it, someone suggested Kiwi pulp which is good too. 6. The sesame oil should be added after the meat has been marinated for a while as it prevents the flavour get into the meat. And if you don't like chuck eye, try topside sirloin, works just as well! The meat is tradtionally served with steamed rice. Hope this info is useful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
186 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TableTennis

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2008
This is AWESOME! I double the marinade, use half lite soy and half regular, then boil it and poor it over rice. Truly phenomenal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Crown Point, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2008
great recipe my husband and I both love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gaffney, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Blaine, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2008
Loved it!! The only difficult part is slicing the meat paper thin...I used a filet knife. I made it the night before and let it marinate. Super yummy. Toddlers and hubby loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2008
This is really good. Instead of using mirin I used chicken stock and the recipe still turned out wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2008
I actually just re-read the recipe and I forgot to add the sugar! It was still one of the best things I have ever eaten, and I do not even normally like steak! I read some reviews saying it was disappointing and to only marinade 2-3hrs--not so!! The longer, the better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2008
YUM! Be sure not to over cook the meat. I made this mistake however it still tasted really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2008
Awesome! I made this for my boyfriend since he didn't get to go home to Korea this year. I made your recipe and another marinade from the bottle, guess which one he liked best? He loved it!! He shoveled food in his mouth faster than I've ever seen him eat before! He kept asking me if it was store brought (pre-marinaded meat from the Asian market) and was so impressed with me when I told him I had made it! Thank you for posting this! Since, I'm not Korean and I know he loves Korean food I will make this for him often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anglica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
Great recipe! Yummy! Tastes like something you would eat in a restaurant!I didn't have any shallots, so I used green onions instead and it worked fine. I also cut the meat into strips before I marinated it and I only marinated it for about 3 1/2 hours and it still tasted awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie Brinkley Canter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Pflugerville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 174) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Country-Fried Steak and Milk Gravy

See how to make a tasty Southern staple: chicken-fried steak and creamy gravy.

Grilled Garlic Steak with Garlic

See how to make an amazing double-garlic steak on the grill.

Grilled Spanish Mustard Steak

Spanish ingredients make a delicious marinade for grilled steak.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States