Awesome Korean Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2008
This was great! We loved it! It would probably be even better if I were able to find mirin. I ended up using grape juice instead, and a little less sugar to balance it. Thought about using the rice wine vinegar like other reviewers suggested, but replacing wine with vinegar just doesn't seem right to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rosie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2008
My family and my guest basically licked the pan clean. They could not stop saying how good it was. If I could give this more than five stars I would! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Danielle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smithfield, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2008
Fantastic, truly one of the best dishes I've prepared. I followed the advice in one of the reviews and I froze the steak in order to slice it as thin as possible. I added some sesame seeds over it after it was done for some of that "exotic" look and served with some broccoli which I sauteed in the same skilet. My wife is not a meat lover but she loved this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Lima, Lima, Peru

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2008
Very good comes very close to my moms teriyaki. My husband loved it! I added shredded carrots and sliced green onions to it with a side of white rice. Yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2008
Really good brown sauce; I added some lemon juice & ginger to tenderize the meat during marination. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KM
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2008
YUM!! This recipe was wonderful! I didn't have mirin so I used Japanese Plum wine instead. I know this probably wasn't a proper substitute for mirin - but the final product came out great! I did use low sodium soy sauce and also added ginger. Thank you for this recipe....I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2008
This was just okay for us. My family liked it but not enough for me to make it again. I followed the recipe as written. It just seemed to be lacking something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fullerton, California, USA
Living In: Cypress, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2008
This is a good basic recipe to make Bulgogi which is the Korean name for this dish. But I made a few changes to make this recipe authentic. 1. instead of using shallots I used spring onions 2. I used half brown sugar and half white 3. I also added 1 tsp crushed ginger which is a key ingredient for this dish, I'm surprised it's not listed. 4. Instead of using mirin which is Japanese, I used Korean cooking wine, attention: rice wine vinegar is NOT a substitute!!!! You can however use mirin if that is the only thing you can find. 5. to soften the meat, add shredded Korean pear to the marinade, if you can't find it, someone suggested Kiwi pulp which is good too. 6. The sesame oil should be added after the meat has been marinated for a while as it prevents the flavour get into the meat. And if you don't like chuck eye, try topside sirloin, works just as well! The meat is tradtionally served with steamed rice. Hope this info is useful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
175 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TableTennis

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2008
This is AWESOME! I double the marinade, use half lite soy and half regular, then boil it and poor it over rice. Truly phenomenal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Crown Point, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2008
great recipe my husband and I both love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gaffney, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Blaine, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 170) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Country-Fried Steak and Milk Gravy

See how to make a tasty Southern staple: chicken-fried steak and creamy gravy.

Grilled Garlic Steak with Garlic

See how to make an amazing double-garlic steak on the grill.

Kalbi (Korean BBQ Short Ribs)

Traditional Korean barbecued beef ribs marinate in a sweet soy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States