Awesome Korean Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2008
This is a good basic recipe to make Bulgogi which is the Korean name for this dish. But I made a few changes to make this recipe authentic. 1. instead of using shallots I used spring onions 2. I used half brown sugar and half white 3. I also added 1 tsp crushed ginger which is a key ingredient for this dish, I'm surprised it's not listed. 4. Instead of using mirin which is Japanese, I used Korean cooking wine, attention: rice wine vinegar is NOT a substitute!!!! You can however use mirin if that is the only thing you can find. 5. to soften the meat, add shredded Korean pear to the marinade, if you can't find it, someone suggested Kiwi pulp which is good too. 6. The sesame oil should be added after the meat has been marinated for a while as it prevents the flavour get into the meat. And if you don't like chuck eye, try topside sirloin, works just as well! The meat is tradtionally served with steamed rice. Hope this info is useful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
175 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TableTennis

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2002
It doesn't get any better than this. This marinade is fantastic. But here's a few cosmetic suggestions to make it even more authentic: First, add three chopped green onions. Second, add one onion, thinly sliced lengthwise. However, I wouldn't dream of suggesting anything about the actual marinade, since it is absolutely perfect. This dish is the pride and joy of Koreans (and their national dish), and I'm sure you'll understand why when you try it! * A friend of mine who also makes this dish always has the most soft, tender beef. After years of badgering, I finally got her to tell me her secret. She adds a tiny amount of fresh, crushed kiwi, less than 1/8 tsp to 2 lbs of beef. I was skeptical, but gave it a shot. I can tell you that it really does work! It was melt in your mouth delicious. Don't be tempted to use more, or you'll end up with a powdery beef mush.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
124 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2006
I did not make this particular recipie but I know 1st hand (I was taught how to make this dish by my Korean mother-in-law) The choice of meat can be cheap Korean cut ribs (which are just small steaks) and only costs $4.00 for aout 2-2 1/2 pounds. Or for a much leaner disch very thinly sliced (from the butcher) roast beef. The marinate should be made of the ingrediates listed but also a puree of carrots, green peppers, and mushrooms and lots of garlic at least 5 cloves... use this with the other ingredients. Also,not sure if I saw but you should use seamee seed oil. And toasted seamee seeds for the marrinating and final top off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HNYKSS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
Very tasty, quick and easy to make. I added some ginger & chilli to the marinade. Served with some noodles and stir fried veges.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hot Chilli

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2002
Very tasty. The flavor is just like the stuff in Korean Restaurants. I used flanks steak instead of ribeye. It was cheaper, and it worked just fine. I recommend freezing the meat prior to slicing, so you can get the pieces as thin as possible. THIN IS KEY for this recipe. Also, you don't need to marinate 12-24 hours...2 hours is plenty. Overall, excellent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2006
This is a wonderful recipe! For those who find the saltiness of the soy sauce a bit too much, darker (Chinese) rather then the lighter (Japanese) soy sauce packs tons of flavor without the intense saltiness of the Japanese varieties. The meat will have a darker appearance after marinating in darker soy sauce, but it won't be as salty. My family and I enjoy this recipe at least once a month. It is truly delcious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2003
this recipe is sooo easy and good. my family fights over it. the only change i made was to use low-sodium soy sauce, otherwise i found the marinade to be a bit on the salty side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2002
This was absolutely awesome! The marinade is just wonderful as is. I wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Troy, Michigan, USA
Living In: Delray Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2005
This is indeed "awesome". I can't find mirin, so I substitute rice wine vinegar. I can't always find shallots, I use green onions on those occasions. Otherwise I make it according to directions, and serve with rice. It says serves 6, but at my house, it serves 2. It's that good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Enterprise, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
I have had this made by a Korean woman in the past and this came as close in taste to hers as I've ever had. I made this exactly as written using an eye round roast sliced extremely thin. The meat was incredibly tender and flavorful. I marinated it for about 18 hours and when I went to cook it, the meat had absorbed every last drop of marinade. I was worried about how salty it might be after reading some of the other reviews, but the flavor was perfect. I can't wait until it warms up outside and I can try this marinade with slightly larger pieces of meat on the grill. A definite keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barry

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paramus, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Brogue, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 170) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Country-Fried Steak and Milk Gravy

See how to make a tasty Southern staple: chicken-fried steak and creamy gravy.

Grilled Garlic Steak with Garlic

See how to make an amazing double-garlic steak on the grill.

Kalbi (Korean BBQ Short Ribs)

Traditional Korean barbecued beef ribs marinate in a sweet soy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States