Awesome Korean Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2005
Very good and the only reason it's getting 4 stars instead of 5 is probably b/c I had trouble cooking the meat correctly. I think I need to slice it very thin next time so it's cooked quickly and is still juicy. The pieces of flank steak I used may have been too thick to fry properly. The juicy pieces were great though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Justin Rand

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2005
this marinade also takes great with portabella mushrooms
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2005
Fantastic bulgogi recipe!!! I used RICE VINEGAR instead of the mirin, and ONIONS instead of the shallots. I added sliced ginger into the marinade for that extra kick. I stir-fried it with red peppers and carrots, added the meat, and poured a little bit of the marinade. Let the meat cook for about 10-12 minutes (depending how you like the meat), and the sauce is gradually thicken. Results? Fantastic dish. Thank you Michael for sharing this "awesome korean steak" recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by azzilann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2005
This marinade is amazing! I marinated thin slices of flank steak, and used rice wine vinegar instead of mirin, garlic powder instead of garlic, yellow onion instead of shallots (as you can see, I had run out of alot of essentials!). I also used real soy sauce so it gave a really rich taste... I served this with soba noodles tossed with sesame oil, cilantro and scallions. This is a marinade that I will continue to use for everything!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2005
This is excellent! Very moist and juicy! Love it! Thanx for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOSHSGRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2005
I've made this twice now. The first time with chuck eye steak. It tasted good when I could actually find some meat within all that fat! Then I used a better sirloin steak and it was wonderful that time. I definitely suggest using a better cut of meat then eye steak. I marinated about 10 hours each time which was plenty. Served with Basmati rice and a veggie sauteed in reserved marinade. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAURA82

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Schaumburg, Illinois, USA
Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2005
This was absolutely TO DIE FOR good. I made 1/3 of the original recipe to make 2 servings (except that I used 3/4 lb. of meat). Marinated the meat about 19 hours. Used 1/2 regular and 1/2 lite soy sauce, subbed sweet yellow onion for the shallot, tripled the garlic, and subbed cooking sherry for the mirin. I cooked the meat in its marinate; when it was almost done, I added some fresh mushroom pieces. This recipe was very quick to put together, except for the meat. My only gripe was de-fatting and de-grizzling the chuck eye steaks. I wound up with pieces of meat that were all different sizes, and thinly slicing them into uniform size strips was not only an impossibility, it was a joke!!! Even though chuck eye was really delicious in this, I think I would use boneless NY strip or rib-eye next time, so that the slicing would be a dream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2005
This is indeed "awesome". I can't find mirin, so I substitute rice wine vinegar. I can't always find shallots, I use green onions on those occasions. Otherwise I make it according to directions, and serve with rice. It says serves 6, but at my house, it serves 2. It's that good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Enterprise, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2005
Great recipe. My family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sumter, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Everett, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2005
Tasted very good. However, I doubled the marinade.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nacogdoches, Texas, USA
Living In: Frisco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 172) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Country-Fried Steak and Milk Gravy

See how to make a tasty Southern staple: chicken-fried steak and creamy gravy.

Grilled Garlic Steak with Garlic

See how to make an amazing double-garlic steak on the grill.

Grilled Spanish Mustard Steak

Spanish ingredients make a delicious marinade for grilled steak.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States