Awesome Korean Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2005
this marinade also takes great with portabella mushrooms
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2005
Fantastic bulgogi recipe!!! I used RICE VINEGAR instead of the mirin, and ONIONS instead of the shallots. I added sliced ginger into the marinade for that extra kick. I stir-fried it with red peppers and carrots, added the meat, and poured a little bit of the marinade. Let the meat cook for about 10-12 minutes (depending how you like the meat), and the sauce is gradually thicken. Results? Fantastic dish. Thank you Michael for sharing this "awesome korean steak" recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by azzilann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2005
This marinade is amazing! I marinated thin slices of flank steak, and used rice wine vinegar instead of mirin, garlic powder instead of garlic, yellow onion instead of shallots (as you can see, I had run out of alot of essentials!). I also used real soy sauce so it gave a really rich taste... I served this with soba noodles tossed with sesame oil, cilantro and scallions. This is a marinade that I will continue to use for everything!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2005
This is excellent! Very moist and juicy! Love it! Thanx for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOSHSGRL
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2005
I've made this twice now. The first time with chuck eye steak. It tasted good when I could actually find some meat within all that fat! Then I used a better sirloin steak and it was wonderful that time. I definitely suggest using a better cut of meat then eye steak. I marinated about 10 hours each time which was plenty. Served with Basmati rice and a veggie sauteed in reserved marinade. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAURA82

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Schaumburg, Illinois, USA
Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2005
This was absolutely TO DIE FOR good. I made 1/3 of the original recipe to make 2 servings (except that I used 3/4 lb. of meat). Marinated the meat about 19 hours. Used 1/2 regular and 1/2 lite soy sauce, subbed sweet yellow onion for the shallot, tripled the garlic, and subbed cooking sherry for the mirin. I cooked the meat in its marinate; when it was almost done, I added some fresh mushroom pieces. This recipe was very quick to put together, except for the meat. My only gripe was de-fatting and de-grizzling the chuck eye steaks. I wound up with pieces of meat that were all different sizes, and thinly slicing them into uniform size strips was not only an impossibility, it was a joke!!! Even though chuck eye was really delicious in this, I think I would use boneless NY strip or rib-eye next time, so that the slicing would be a dream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2005
This is indeed "awesome". I can't find mirin, so I substitute rice wine vinegar. I can't always find shallots, I use green onions on those occasions. Otherwise I make it according to directions, and serve with rice. It says serves 6, but at my house, it serves 2. It's that good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Enterprise, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2005
Great recipe. My family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sumter, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Everett, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2005
Tasted very good. However, I doubled the marinade.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nacogdoches, Texas, USA
Living In: Frisco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2005
Very Good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 171) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Country-Fried Steak and Milk Gravy

See how to make a tasty Southern staple: chicken-fried steak and creamy gravy.

Grilled Garlic Steak with Garlic

See how to make an amazing double-garlic steak on the grill.

Kalbi (Korean BBQ Short Ribs)

Traditional Korean barbecued beef ribs marinate in a sweet soy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States