Awesome Italian Hoagie Spread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
I did double this recipe. Because I'm low on mayonnaise, I used half mayonnaise/half sour cream. The boys inhaled this and kept going "mmmmmm" while they were eating it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
This is a good dip served it with rye cocktail bread and used Sargento Italian blend cheese.This is very hardy so the guys loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brownstown, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
I saw this dip last week for the Conference championship games and made it on a whim. It was well liked and i found it to be very nicely done! I think the only improvement might be some sliced olives (green & black) on the side that people can add as they please. Really enjoyed making and eating this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ched Bread

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Barnesville, Georgia, USA
Living In: Johns Creek, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2012
I have made this many many times and everytime it is wonderful! So many people just love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
This was a great recipe! Everyone in my house loved it. It was pretty salty with the pickled pepperocinis I used, and the summer sausage I subbed for the salami since I had three of them from Christmas! Also subbed chicken for turkey. I omitted the red pepper, used some black pepper and think the summer sausage and pepperocinis gave it some "fire". Maybe use crackers that aren't heavily salted like the flipsides are? It was great though and I would make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fairchildbecca

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MrsFisher0729
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
This dip/spread is incredible! It was the first dip gone at the Super Bowl party I took it to! The flavors are delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
I made this as written first....eyeballed it & thought that it would be gone is 10 seconds with my house of men. Tasted it. It was very good. 5 stars! The only sub I made on the original recipe was to use the package of mini heirloom tomatoes (I cut them in big pieces) because that was what I had on hand. Tweaked it because after I made it - it would not feed 15, which seems to be how many I cook for. Doubled everything except the mayo & added 1/2 cup (chopped them) fire roasted peppers (Trader Joe's Jar), Red Onion (chopped) Granulated Garlic - 2 heaping teaspoons) 1 tsp. Italian Seasoning, 1 can chopped stewed tomatoes with liquid (lower fat than adding more mayo). Let the whole thing sit in the fridge for an hour before the Menfolk found it & started eating it. Let's just say it should have fed 15 when made. Huge Bowl! There is about 1 1/2 cups left 3 hours later. Good Man Food & I liked it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jewels

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northridge, California, USA
Living In: Valencia, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
I have been making a similar recipe for years. I use 1/4 lb each of ham, bologna, slicing pepperoni, mozzarella and American cheese. I put all ingredients in a food processor and serve with sliced hoagie/sub/torpedo rolls. Addictive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2012
This was REALLY good! I had the deli slice the meat and cheese about 1/4 inch thick and next time I would go smaller because it seemed as though it would stay on the cracker better if it was smaller. The spread is not "wet" so you can actually put it on the crackers in advance without ending up with soggy crackers (I left one on a cracker for two hours and it was fine).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
consider more jalapeno or red pepper if you want to spice it up a bit
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Taco Dip I

This simple dip features all your favorite taco toppings in delicious dip form.

Real Italian Calzones

True calzones stuffed with cheeses, pepperoni, and mushrooms.

Focaccia di Recco (Italian Flatbread)

See how to make an amazing cheese-filled Italian flatbread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States