Awesome Italian Hoagie Spread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
This was a nice change at our tailgate party. This is a unique appetizer that does taste like hoagies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
I made this for a party based on all the good reviews and I'm not sure if my deli's quality of meat wasn't up to par or what but I didn't get the "fantastic-ness" of this recipe. Don't get me wrong, it wasn't bad by any means but for me, I'm not sure I'll make it again. I did use low fat mayo so maybe that is what did it? Also I didn't see any benefit of adding the tomatoes. If I make this again I do think what I'll do is spread in between some good italian bread, let it sit for a while to blend flavors and cut serving as finger sandwiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Codez
Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
This is really good ! I made it for a potluck at work and there was none left , which left people asking for more .. Will definitely make again and again and again :) Great receipe !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn Kurth

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Westwood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
This was a yummy treat. It was a little heavy on the mayo for me, so I will reduce it next time. A nice flavor combo!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
I made this as written first....eyeballed it & thought that it would be gone is 10 seconds with my house of men. Tasted it. It was very good. 5 stars! The only sub I made on the original recipe was to use the package of mini heirloom tomatoes (I cut them in big pieces) because that was what I had on hand. Tweaked it because after I made it - it would not feed 15, which seems to be how many I cook for. Doubled everything except the mayo & added 1/2 cup (chopped them) fire roasted peppers (Trader Joe's Jar), Red Onion (chopped) Granulated Garlic - 2 heaping teaspoons) 1 tsp. Italian Seasoning, 1 can chopped stewed tomatoes with liquid (lower fat than adding more mayo). Let the whole thing sit in the fridge for an hour before the Menfolk found it & started eating it. Let's just say it should have fed 15 when made. Huge Bowl! There is about 1 1/2 cups left 3 hours later. Good Man Food & I liked it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jewels

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northridge, California, USA
Living In: Valencia, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
I have been making a similar recipe for years. I use 1/4 lb each of ham, bologna, slicing pepperoni, mozzarella and American cheese. I put all ingredients in a food processor and serve with sliced hoagie/sub/torpedo rolls. Addictive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
consider more jalapeno or red pepper if you want to spice it up a bit
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2012
This was REALLY good! I had the deli slice the meat and cheese about 1/4 inch thick and next time I would go smaller because it seemed as though it would stay on the cracker better if it was smaller. The spread is not "wet" so you can actually put it on the crackers in advance without ending up with soggy crackers (I left one on a cracker for two hours and it was fine).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
We liked this.Added a head of lettuce and made it a salad !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
I did double this recipe. Because I'm low on mayonnaise, I used half mayonnaise/half sour cream. The boys inhaled this and kept going "mmmmmm" while they were eating it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Tender Italian Baked Chicken

This flavorful, moist baked chicken dish is ready in just 30 minutes.

Taco Dip I

This simple dip features all your favorite taco toppings in delicious dip form.

Real Italian Calzones

True calzones stuffed with cheeses, pepperoni, and mushrooms.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States