Awesome Ham Pasta Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
Just made it and tasted it fresh. Yum! It's a winner even before the flavors meld. I might try the dressing on other things too. A great use for leftover ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sidney, Ohio, USA
Living In: Sunbury, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
This is the most amazing pasta salad(IMHO). I made this recipe as written, only change was I used Miracle Whip instead of mayo. I used leftovers from a spiral cut ham. I wasn't sure about all of the red onion, as they can be really strong, but after sitting in the fridge for a day or two, it was nice and tangy, not too powerful. Do NOT skip the pickle juice and pickles (I chopped up 15 Gerkins), because we all thought it was the pickles and juice that "made" this salad so good. My husband (who was totally against it when he heard there was ham in it) is now addicted. He took it to work and his coworker said he could eat the entire bowl. I'm thinking the only thing I would ever change to this is to add cubed provolone next time. Looks like it's my new pasta salad from here on out. Thank you so much for this recipe, and to all the reviewers who posted. It really made the decision for me to try it. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
I used two very large red bell peppers (instead of one red, one green) and I used equal amounts garlic dill pickles instead of sweet pickles. To the dressing, I added a few spices (onion powder, garlic powder, dried dill weed, fresh ground pepper, a little hot sauce). I did not add the full amount of dill pickle juice, I just kept adding until it was the consistancy I was looking for. This makes an excellent quick lunch--I mixed it up the night before and portioned it out into small Tupperware containers (my husband took two!)--with a homemade yeast roll. Very filling. Adding additional spices really made this salad great. I did miss the addition of hard boiled eggs, I will make this again but add in a couple chopped hard boiled eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
great pasta salad. Strong flavour so it wasn't a hit with kids
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
This is a good basic pasta salad. I made as written with the exception of adding the pickles. We do not care for pickles in our salad. The pasta, ham, peppers, onion and tomatoes work really well together. I just thought there was a little too much dressing. The dressing has great flavor, but if I make this again, I will add a little and stir and keep doing that until I get the dressing/pasta ratio correct.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2012
I have made this at least ten times. We love it! It's a great make-ahead dish. I did make a few changes. The dressing is very rich. I compensate by adding an orange bell pepper, way more tomatoes, and a little extra pasta. I'm happy to use three or more cups of tomatoes. The chopping does take awhile, but it is a large batch of pasta salad that keeps for days. To speed things up, I spin the tomatoes in a salad spinner to get the seeds out, use a chopper for the peppers, and grate the onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2012
this was excellent! Left out pickles and pickle juice because we're not fans, still turned out delicious! Definitely keeping this recipe to use up leftover ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2012
This sounds like a weird combo,however it is over the top delish. An excellent and very delicious way to use leftover ham. I totally recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: San Gabriel, California, USA
Living In: Hemet, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
This is so good! I make it as the recipe says and it is a big hit every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SARAHCANADA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2012
I'm giving this 5 stars een tho I had to adjust the recipe somewhat. I didn't have beef bouillon granules on hand or red bell pepper. I used apple cider vinegar instead of white vinegar (personal preferance). I also added about 1 cup shredded Swiss cheese (to compensate for the lack of other ingredients). We loved it! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 205) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Awesome Pasta Salad

Watch how to make a pasta salad filled with lots of good stuff.

Pasta Salad with Avocado and Tomato

See how to make a fresh pasta salad with avocadoes, tomato, and mozzarella.

Bacon Ranch Pasta Salad

Cheddar, bacon, and ranch dressing make a fast and flavorful pasta salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States