Awesome Ham Pasta Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2008
I had to try this recipe as so many people wrote about it. As I had been to the store twice already, and I forgot to put all the ingredients on my list, I had to make due with what I had on hand. I cleaned out my pantry of partial boxes of pasta to yield one pound. I used dill gerkins, sweet relish, and dill pickle juice. To keep it in line with the recipe, I also added a spoon of sugar to tame the dill. My other major sub was to use a dry Knorr's Au Jus Sauce packet for the beef flavoring. As I expected, the dish turned out to be great.....you can make it with just about anything you have on had. Five Stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alanE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2008
My husband was so sorry that we finished this pasta off today, and I believe that says it all! Not having any ziti on hand, I used rotini. It worked beautifully. Along with other reviewers, I used sweet pickle relish instead of cutting up 15 sweet pickles, but I still included the 1/2 cup pickle juice. Finally, I added some chopped celery and cucumber to the other veggies. I thought nothing could be better than my mom's macaroni salad, but this was unbelievable! Absolutely delicious with every bite. This is definitely a keeper...and my new favorite cold pasta salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: North East, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2008
Mmmm.... soooo gooood..... caaan't stop eatingggg.......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2008
My family has been making a version of this salad for 30 years. I had every pasta but ziti! 1. I used small sea shell pasta 2. I used sweet pickle relish to save time 3. I didn't have red pepper, so I used fire roasted from a jar 4. I always reserve a small amount of the dressing after it has marinate in the fridge to mix in before I serve it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2007
Very easy and tasty alternative for left over Christmas ham! I only had spaghetti noodles and I added black olives and left out vinegar and pickle relish. My family of 4 just loved it and we gobbled it all up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2007
It came out great! my husband loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2007
This is one of the best pasta salads I have ever tried. Make it for every pot luck when I have to bring salad. My son who won't eat most of the ingredients on their own actually says he craves it and often asks me to make it for him.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2007
I have had this recipe in my recipe box for a long time but I just wasn't sure about it. Glad I made it. Very good! Another very good pasta salad from this sight is Chicken cashew salad (yummy)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2007
I normally don't like pasta salad, but this was wonderful. I followed the recipe exactly except for adding 1 cup of diced swiss cheese. Everyone loved it - even my friend who doesn't eat bell peppers. Next time will add one green and one orange or yellow pepper as there is already red from the tomatoes. Also used 12 oz of rotini primavera. Really yummy. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vista, California, USA
Living In: Gardnerville, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2007
I used the recipe as a base for ham pasta salad. So I ommited the pickle relish and added a small piece of celery, app.1 teaspoon of beef base and 3 boiled eggs. It's a good recipe to play around with. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rancho Cordova, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 213) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Awesome Pasta Salad

Watch how to make a pasta salad filled with lots of good stuff.

Pasta Salad with Avocado and Tomato

See how to make a fresh pasta salad with avocadoes, tomato, and mozzarella.

Bacon Ranch Pasta Salad

Cheddar, bacon, and ranch dressing make a fast and flavorful pasta salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States