Awesome Grilled Cheese Sandwiches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2011
I almost feel silly for rating a basic grilled cheese sandwich "recipe". I guess I'm more rating the technique! I've never ever thought about trying to do grilled cheese in the oven but when feeding a family of 6, this recipe has been a life-saver. I can cook all the sandwiches at once without having to haul out my electric griddle. Also, the flavor is amazing - perfectly browned bread and gooey, melted cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gillie Cameron Almeida

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Battle Creek, Michigan, USA
Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
I grew up with the open-faced version of this. We probably had it 3 or 4 times a year and I loved it every time. Just a slice of bread with cheese on top and possibly a slice of tomato (which I didn't appreciate as a kid, so I had the plain cheese version.) But throw on ham, pepperoni or whatever suits you. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Carp, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
This is Sooo Gooood! I did change it up a bit but this was a great beginning! I used frozen Texas Toast, thawed. I spread ricotta cheese on one slice, topped with pepperoni and then shredded mozzarella, topped it with a nother slice of toast. Baked at 375 for 7 minutes. Dipped in pizza sauce. I will be trying this with my own garlic bread also. A bit more budget friendly. I made these the night before so dinner was ready to pop in the oven. This is a keeper! Nice change!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Akron, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
I broil my grilled cheese in the oven 2 minutes each side. 12 at a time. Broil cooks fast just keep an eye on it or they will go from done to burnt quick. I owned a home daycare for 17 years and this lets you crank em out as fast as they eat them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
This is a brilliant idea. My husband and I made these last night with texas toast, aged cheddar smoked gouda, and some assorted scraps of diced leftover meat. They were fantastic. I cooked them at 400 degrees for 7 minutes on each side. I was afraid they would burn but they didn't. Each side was crisp and perfectly brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
Easy and just perfectly "grilled". This is now the only way that I will make grilled sandwiches with fillings and without.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
I NEVER would have thought to look up a grilled cheese recipe! A friend of mine shared this on Facebook, and I had to try! Loved the ease and loved having them done all at the same time without using a bunch of pans to acheive that! YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cathy Cooper
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
This tasted so good even though I didn't use any butter! So crispy and cheesy! Like another review suggested, I baked at 400 degrees on the lowest rack for 8 minutes, then flipped and baked for 6 minutes. I also let the sandwiches bake open-faced for a while to let the cheese melting get a head start. Very satisfying and full of yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy Cooper

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
They were super easy and I loved that everyone's sandwich was done at the same time. Followed the recipe exactly, 8 minutes on the first side and 5 minutes on the second
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by coleebear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sykesville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
so much better than in a frying pan!! nothing was soggy. great cruchy taste. i put the sandwiches on a cooling rack on a cookie sheet. takes longer than the frying pan of course, but well worth it and i'm glad i finally tried it after all these years! thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 360) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Awesome Grilled Cheese Sandwiches

See an amazing method for making “grilled” cheese sandwiches.

How to Make Grilled Cheese Sandwiches

See how to make this classic diner sandwich.

Inside-Out Grilled Cheese Sandwich

Discover the technique that makes the cheesiest grilled cheese sandwiches ever!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States