Awesome Grilled Cheese Sandwiches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
I use coconut oil instead of butter and put the sandwich on a sheet or even a frying pan, but I use the top broiling element (about 3 inches away from sandwich). No soggy bottoms and it gives the toasted bread a really different texture. If I use a frying pan I can just leave the oven door open with the handle sticking out and don't even have to use oven mitts to handle anything!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
So easy and good. My mom used to make fried bologna this way too when I was a kid. Hadn't thought of that in many years.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
I have been making my grilled cheese sandwiches this way for 30 years. Picked up the trick from the cafeteria ladies. Its the only way they can cook grilled cheese for hundreds at a time. I love it done this way. The crunchy toast is just what I like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
I like adding very thinly sliced red, or other sweet onion, before grilling. Fabulous! - Joyce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
The bread was crunchy on the outside and soft in the middle which was great but it needed more cheese. One slice was not enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
I tried this a long time ago at someone's suggestion because I had to make 4 grilled cheese sandwiches. They were nothing like the grilled taste and texture you get from a pan on top of the stove. I now use a stove top griddle and can make 2 sandwiches at a time. Also 1 slice of cheese is a bit chincy unless you slice your own cheese thick the way I do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
haven't tried yet, but willing to give a shot next time i make grilled cheese for several people. But I will have to ad something to it.like chopped up pepperoni..or mexican style hamburg or leftover meatloaf
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
Great idea to bake it but just not enough cheese - you are eating mostly bread. Try adding a slice of mozzarella and a slice of swiss. Taste nice and cheesy with three cheeses....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SWEETIRIS

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Woodbridge, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
Hey everyone - how do you think they make these in schools? The same way. Most excellent dunker in tomato soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
I have to give this an A+ for quickness, but its not a grilled cheese sandwich. Its more like a toasted cheese sandwich. Good, quick but its no grilled cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: South Charleston, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 364) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Awesome Grilled Cheese Sandwiches

See an amazing method for making “grilled” cheese sandwiches.

How to Make Grilled Cheese Sandwiches

See how to make this classic diner sandwich.

Inside-Out Grilled Cheese Sandwich

Discover the technique that makes the cheesiest grilled cheese sandwiches ever!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States