Awesome Grilled Cheese Sandwiches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
Very Good, the only changed I made was to add a little more cheese. My favourite thing about this is both sides were evenly browned unlike in the pan, I will never make grilled cheese in a pan again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GoSensGo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
Great method. I used wheat bread and 4 minutes on each side was perfect for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erz2002

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dover, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Dillsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2010
After reading the reviews and making this several times, I've discovered a few things. The time it takes depends on the bread type (e.g., wheat, white, etc.), the bread slice thickness and the temperature of the cheese when it goes in the oven. White bread takes twice as long as wheat bread (with the same thickness) to brown. Cheese that is still at refrigerator temperature will not melt by the time the bread is browned. I've a feeling that the author used white bread and her cheese was at room temperature. For me, it takes 5-6 minutes on each side for white bread and 3-4 minutes on each side for wheat bread. The best way I have found to make sure the cheese melts is to place a buttered slice of bread (buttered side down) on a cookie sheet, top with cheese and bake for the first half of the time. Add a second slice of buttered bread on top of the cheese (buttered side up) then flip over and bake the remaining time. It turns out perfect every time for me now. Each oven will be slightly different too. Mine is only about 6 months old.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MagnoliaSouth

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2010
easy and you don't have to stand at the stove. Just pop them in and take them out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Moose Jaw, Saskatchewan, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2010
Curiosity got the better of me and I just had to try this method of "cooking" grilled cheese sandwiches. It's a really great idea if you need a whole bunch at one time. I don't run into that problem because it's just me and my husband but this Actually Does Work. The grilled cheese comes out oohey, goohey, crispy, and delicious! Great idea and great recipe! I'll have to try this with other "grilled" sandwiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2010
These are indeed Awesome!!! I watch 4-6 grandkids during the Summer and this recipe was the bomb! All the kids loved them and it was so easy for me. I used real butter and 2 pieces of cheese on each sandwich. My 9 year-old grandson asked me to please give this recipe to his mom. Delicious! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: May 28, 2010
I used this method of cooking my grilled cheese tonight and let me just say that I will NEVER go back to cooking them in a pan again! I cannot believe how perfect these came out-crispy, buttery and ooey gooey delicious. This is my new and only method from now on! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 13, 2010
Great idea! They turned out perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bravo Alpha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Haven, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: May 6, 2010
How have I lived on this earth for 34 years and never thought to use the oven to make grilled cheeses? The idea hit me out of the blue today, and so I Googled to figure out the right temp and time, and this recipe came up. I tried it out, and they were PERFECT. I lined my pan with foil to make clean up a snap, and I didn't even end up needing to flip them; top and bottom were perfectly done. Maybe the foil had something to do with it? In any case, this is how I will make grilled cheeses for my family from here on out! Less work, less clean up, perfect done-ness....mama likey! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
This is a fabulous way to make grilled cheese, whether for a crowd or just one. I often make these in the toaster oven for myself for lunch (temp @ 400, no need to flip, but watch carefully as it might cook faster than in the oven), and I love them. They are crispier than pan-fried grilled cheese, which makes them a hit in my book. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susiekew

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 365) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Awesome Grilled Cheese Sandwiches

See an amazing method for making “grilled” cheese sandwiches.

How to Make Grilled Cheese Sandwiches

See how to make this classic diner sandwich.

Inside-Out Grilled Cheese Sandwich

Discover the technique that makes the cheesiest grilled cheese sandwiches ever!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States