Awesome Grilled Cheese Sandwiches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
At first I thought this was kind of funny that it was a recipe. But, after making them I realize that it is a really convenient way to cook many at the same without sitting over a stove. I am not able to get 8 on a tray, but I can do 6 at a time. And, clean up is easy because I line the try with foil. They are kind of crispy, but slightly greasy with the cheddar so American cheese can be used which helps with that slightly. I tried one with a large slice of tomato and it was excellent! They do get brown fast though, so keep an eye on them. If you make extra they taste fine the next day to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
I'm sure I've rated this before, but here it is again -- this is a great idea and works fantastically well to make grilled cheese for a crowd. If you use softened butter, you can also reduce the fat & fatty "texture" of traditional grilled cheese as well since you only need a thin coating of butter to make these great. Watch your sandwiches closely, as all ovens are different and 450 is hot enough to burn them up if your oven is even a hair off from the recipe submitter's. Thanks for the recipe, we love these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Photo by JenToBeach
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
Great way to make alot of sandwiches at one time. I used a whole wheat bread, and a combination of colby-jack and provolone cheese. I baked 5 minutes per side. Very crispy and yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JenToBeach

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
My kids went nuts over these!! They baked up crispy crunchy & they LOVED them! Each one of them ate 2 whole sandwiches-unusual for them!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
The bread came out a little crunchier than soaked in butter in the pan, but it sure took less effort to bake the sandwiches in the oven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Johanna WISHES she were a

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
Never would have looked for this recipe until I moved and didn't have any of my pans for a week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Josephine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Queens, New York, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
I'm not sure what happened on my end, but the grilled cheese sandwiches did not turn out as mentioned in the recipe. The recipe said to bake the sandwich for 6 to 8 minutes on each side, but the bottoms burnt when only baking the sandwich on the one side for 6 mins. I will try again, but possibly tweak the stove temperature next time. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
Very Good, the only changed I made was to add a little more cheese. My favourite thing about this is both sides were evenly browned unlike in the pan, I will never make grilled cheese in a pan again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GoSensGo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
Great method. I used wheat bread and 4 minutes on each side was perfect for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erz2002

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dover, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Dillsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2010
After reading the reviews and making this several times, I've discovered a few things. The time it takes depends on the bread type (e.g., wheat, white, etc.), the bread slice thickness and the temperature of the cheese when it goes in the oven. White bread takes twice as long as wheat bread (with the same thickness) to brown. Cheese that is still at refrigerator temperature will not melt by the time the bread is browned. I've a feeling that the author used white bread and her cheese was at room temperature. For me, it takes 5-6 minutes on each side for white bread and 3-4 minutes on each side for wheat bread. The best way I have found to make sure the cheese melts is to place a buttered slice of bread (buttered side down) on a cookie sheet, top with cheese and bake for the first half of the time. Add a second slice of buttered bread on top of the cheese (buttered side up) then flip over and bake the remaining time. It turns out perfect every time for me now. Each oven will be slightly different too. Mine is only about 6 months old.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MagnoliaSouth

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA

Displaying results 101-110 (of 362) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Awesome Grilled Cheese Sandwiches

See an amazing method for making “grilled” cheese sandwiches.

How to Make Grilled Cheese Sandwiches

See how to make this classic diner sandwich.

Inside-Out Grilled Cheese Sandwich

Discover the technique that makes the cheesiest grilled cheese sandwiches ever!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States