Awesome Grilled Cheese Sandwiches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
I love making grilled cheese sandwiches this way! They actually taste a little different from the regular way of making grilled cheese, but still delicious! It reminds me of the ones we always had in school. This is super fast and easy. Mine were done with only 4 minutes on each side (in a gas oven). Ovens vary, so I would suggest maybe starting at around 4-5 minutes, and checking them. You can also try it with different cheeses!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Strange-1

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
~ What a time saver! For a quick meal...this works and no waiting with hungry men in the house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Voorhees, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
At first I thought this was kind of funny that it was a recipe. But, after making them I realize that it is a really convenient way to cook many at the same without sitting over a stove. I am not able to get 8 on a tray, but I can do 6 at a time. And, clean up is easy because I line the try with foil. They are kind of crispy, but slightly greasy with the cheddar so American cheese can be used which helps with that slightly. I tried one with a large slice of tomato and it was excellent! They do get brown fast though, so keep an eye on them. If you make extra they taste fine the next day to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
I'm sure I've rated this before, but here it is again -- this is a great idea and works fantastically well to make grilled cheese for a crowd. If you use softened butter, you can also reduce the fat & fatty "texture" of traditional grilled cheese as well since you only need a thin coating of butter to make these great. Watch your sandwiches closely, as all ovens are different and 450 is hot enough to burn them up if your oven is even a hair off from the recipe submitter's. Thanks for the recipe, we love these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Photo by JenToBeach
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
Great way to make alot of sandwiches at one time. I used a whole wheat bread, and a combination of colby-jack and provolone cheese. I baked 5 minutes per side. Very crispy and yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JenToBeach

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
My kids went nuts over these!! They baked up crispy crunchy & they LOVED them! Each one of them ate 2 whole sandwiches-unusual for them!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
The bread came out a little crunchier than soaked in butter in the pan, but it sure took less effort to bake the sandwiches in the oven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Johanna WISHES she were a

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
Never would have looked for this recipe until I moved and didn't have any of my pans for a week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Josephine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Queens, New York, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
I'm not sure what happened on my end, but the grilled cheese sandwiches did not turn out as mentioned in the recipe. The recipe said to bake the sandwich for 6 to 8 minutes on each side, but the bottoms burnt when only baking the sandwich on the one side for 6 mins. I will try again, but possibly tweak the stove temperature next time. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
Very Good, the only changed I made was to add a little more cheese. My favourite thing about this is both sides were evenly browned unlike in the pan, I will never make grilled cheese in a pan again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GoSensGo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 364) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Awesome Grilled Cheese Sandwiches

See an amazing method for making “grilled” cheese sandwiches.

How to Make Grilled Cheese Sandwiches

See how to make this classic diner sandwich.

Inside-Out Grilled Cheese Sandwich

Discover the technique that makes the cheesiest grilled cheese sandwiches ever!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States